2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® Winner Announced

2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® Winner Announced

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (Dec. 12, 2013) — The Davey O’Brien Foundation today announced Florida State’s Jameis Winston as the 2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® Winner. Ty Detmer, the 1990 and 1991 Davey O’Brien Winner, presented the award to Winston duringThe Home Depot College Football Awards at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Winston will be honored at the 37th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.


Winston was named a finalist for the Davey O’Brien along with 2012 winner Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M and AJ McCarron of Alabama. The Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee selected the winner with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.


In his first season as a starter, the redshirt freshman led the Seminoles to a 13-0 regular season, the Atlantic Coast Conference championship and a date with Auburn in the national championship game on Jan. 6. Winston is directing one of the most potent offenses in college football this season as the Seminoles have posted an average margin of victory of more than 42 points and have outscored their opponents 689-139. The 689 points is a new ACC record and ranks No. 1 in the FBS. With one game left on the schedule, the Seminoles are just 28 points shy of setting the NCAA single-season scoring record.


The Bessemer, Ala. native has had a record-setting season. Winston leads the FBS in passing efficiency with a rating of 190.1 – completing 237 of 349 passes for 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns. He ranks in the Top 10 nationally in completion percentage, touchdown passes, passing yards, passing yards per game, yards per completion, points responsible for and points per game. He now holds the NCAA freshman records for passing yards passing touchdowns and is the first freshman quarterback in college football history to lead his team to 13 wins.


Winston is Florida State’s third Davey O’Brien Award winner, joining Charlie Ward (1993) and Chris Weinke (2000). Weinke was the last player from the ACC to win the award.


About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away nearly $900,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.


The Davey O’Brien Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.


Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .

Please note

This is a widgetized sidebar area and you can place any widget here, as you would with the classic WordPress sidebar.