Semifinalists named for 2014 Davey O’Brien Award

Semifinalists named for 2014 Davey O’Brien Award

Nine seniors, five juniors among 16 up for most prestigious quarterback honor


After tabulating the ballots of more than 75 Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee members as well as the over 57,000 votes courtesy of the Fan Vote, the 16 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award have been determined.

The semifinalists, in alphabetical order, include: J.T. Barrett (Ohio State), Trevone Boykin (TCU), Shane Carden (East Carolina), Rakeem Cato (Marshall), Connor Cook (Michigan State), Everett Golson (Notre Dame), Brett Hundley (UCLA), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), Nick Marshall (Auburn), Bryce Petty (Baylor), Dak Prescott (Mississippi State), Blake Sims (Alabama), Clint Trickett (West Virginia), Bo Wallace (Ole Miss), Jake Waters (Kansas State) and Jameis Winston (Florida State).

Four players–Hundley, Mariota, Petty and Winston–are repeat semifinalists from a year ago, with Winston ultimately being named the 2013 Davey O’Brien Award winner. Mariota, who also was named in 2012, is the lone three-time semifinalist.

The group of 2014 semifinalists is heavy on upperclassmen, as it features nine seniors, five juniors, one sophomore and one freshman. The 16 semifinalists’ teams own a combined record of 107-18 (.856) this season.

Schools from eight conference affiliations (AAC, ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, C-USA, Independents, Pac-12 and SEC) make up the list, with the Big 12 (4) and SEC (4) joining to compose half of the field.

Six schools represented—Auburn, Baylor, Florida State, Kansas State, Ohio State and UCLA—have previously had Davey O’Brien Award winners.

After clearing the first round totals, the Fan Vote at reopens today and will remain open until noon (CT) on Sunday, Nov. 23, for the second round of balloting. Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily per email address.

The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation and the Selection Committee will release the names of the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 24. The 2014 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11.

Previous winners include: Jim McMahon (BYU, 1981), Todd Blackledge (Penn State, 1982), Steve Young (BYU, 1983), Doug Flutie (Boston College, 1984), Chuck Long (Iowa, 1985), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, 1986), Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1988), Andre Ware (Houston, 1989), Ty Detmer (BYU, 1990-91), Gino Torretta (Miami, 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Kerry Collins (Penn State, 1994), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1995-96), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Michael Bishop (Kansas State, 1998), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), Eric Crouch (Nebraska, 2001), Brad Banks (Iowa, 2002), Jason White (Oklahoma, 2003-04), Vince Young (Texas, 2005), Troy Smith (Ohio State, 2006), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007), Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, 2008), Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Cam Newton (Auburn, 2010), Robert Griffin III (Baylor, 2011), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M, 2012) and Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013).

The 38th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 16, 2015, in Fort Worth, Texas.


2014 Semifinalists

J.T. Barrett, Ohio State, Freshman, Wichita Falls, Texas, 6-1, 225

Lone freshman among the semifinalists; Fourth in the nation in passing efficiency (170.0) and points responsible for (174); Eighth in NCAA in touchdown passes (23)


Trevone Boykin, TCU, Junior, Dallas, Texas, 6-2, 205

Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week on Oct. 28; Fourth nationally in total offense (361.9) and eighth in points responsible for (156); Seven touchdown passes vs. Texas Tech


Shane Carden, East Carolina, Senior, Houston, Texas, 6-2, 221

Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week on Sept. 16; Third in the nation in total offense (362.0) and sixth in passing yards (2,791); 2014 Senior CLASS Award candidate


Rakeem Cato, Marshall, Senior, Miami, Fla., 6-1, 176

All-time NCAA record holder for consecutive games with a touchdown pass (40); Eighth in the nation in passing efficiency (160.1) and 10th in points responsible for (150)


Connor Cook, Michigan State, Junior, Hinckley, Ohio, 6-4, 218

Seventh in the nation in passing efficiency (163.1); 19 total touchdowns (17 passing); 19-2 career record as a starter; Semifinalist for 2014 Maxwell Award


Everett Golson, Notre Dame, Senior, Myrtle Beach, S.C., 6-0, 200

Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week on Oct. 21; Third in points responsible for (176) and 11th in touchdown passes (22); First Notre Dame player to throw and rush for three TDs in a game


Brett Hundley, UCLA, Junior, Chandler, Ariz., 6-3, 226

Second in nation in completion percentage (.710) and 12th in passing efficiency (156.5); Shares school’s all-time record for career TD passes (68); 2013 Davey O’Brien Award semifinalist


Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Junior, Honolulu, Hawaii, 6-4, 219

Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week on Sept. 9; First nationally in points responsible for (204) and passing efficiency (187.2); 2012 and 2013 Davey O’Brien Award semifinalist


Nick Marshall, Auburn, Senior, Pineview, Ga., 6-1, 210

Has 631 yards and nine touchdowns rushing and 1,357 yards and 13 scores passing; School quarterback record eight career 100-yard rushing games; 2014 Maxwell Award semifinalist


Bryce Petty, Baylor, Senior, Midlothian, Texas, 6-3, 230

Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week on Oct. 14; Seventh in points responsible for per game (19.7); Team leads nation in scoring offense (50.3); 2013 Davey O’Brien Award semifinalist


Dak Prescott, Mississippi State, Junior, Haughton, La., 6-3, 230

Two-time Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week (Sept. 23, Oct. 7); Sixth in points responsible for (162), seventh in total offense (343.8) and 10th in passing efficiency (157.8)


Blake Sims, Alabama, Senior, Gainesville, Ga., 6-0, 208

Third in the nation in passing efficiency (172.7) and 19th in completion percentage (.655); 20 total touchdowns (15 passing) with 2,034 yards passing and 250 yards rushing


Clint Trickett, West Virginia, Senior, Tallahassee, Fla., 6-2, 186

One of two multi-time winners of Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week (Sept. 16, Oct. 21); Fourth in NCAA in passing yards (2,925) and eighth in completion percentage (.675)


Bo Wallace, Ole Miss, Senior, Pulaski, Tenn., 6-4, 217

2014 Maxwell Award semifinalist; 2,416 yards passing and 20 touchdowns plus three rushing scores; Among NCAA’s top 20 in passer rating; Led Ole Miss to national top-5 ranking


Jake Waters, Kansas State, Senior, Council Bluffs, Iowa, 6-1, 210

Maxwell Award semifinalist; 404 rushing yards and seven touchdowns plus 1,878 passing yards and 11 TDs; Nine straight games passing for at least 200 yards


Jameis Winston, Florida State, Sophomore, Bessemer, Ala., 6-4, 230

21-0 career record as starting quarterback; Ninth nationally in total offense (331.9) and 10th in completion percentage (.672); 2013 Davey O’Brien Award winner


Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .

Please note

This is a widgetized sidebar area and you can place any widget here, as you would with the classic WordPress sidebar.