Davey O’Brien Fan Vote returns Sept. 1

Davey O’Brien Fan Vote returns Sept. 1

Voting change this year allows fans to cast multiple votes daily


FORT WORTH, Texas — The Davey O’Brien Foundation has officially announced that the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote will kick off Tuesday, just prior to the start of the 2015 college football season. This is the ninth year that fans will participate in the voting process to help determine the nation’s best college quarterback.

One change in voting will be in place this year, as for the first time ever, fans may cast votes as often as they wish at VoteOBrien.org. Any Fan Vote irregularities will be monitored on a daily basis and handled accordingly.

During each round of the voting process, the Fan Vote counts as five percent of the vote total when combined with results from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee. The Selection Committee is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. Fan Vote totals reset after each voting round.

“We are excited that our fans will be able to play an even more meaningful role in the selection process for the Davey O’Brien Award this year,” Bill Brady, executive director of the Davey O’Brien Foundation, said. “The Fan Vote has been popular with fans over the years and we believe that this change will allow college football fans to become even more engaged.”

The first round of voting will take place from Sept. 1 through Nov. 1 and will factor into the naming of the 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 2. The second round of voting (Nov. 2-22) will help narrow the list to the three finalists on Tuesday, Nov. 24. The third and final round, which will aid in selecting the winner among the three finalists, will be open Nov. 24-Dec. 6.

The 2015 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced on ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards Dec. 10. He will be honored at the 39th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 15, 2016, in Fort Worth, Texas.


The Fan Vote Process
Round One: Sept. 1 – Nov. 1
Beginning Tuesday, Sept. 1, fans will have all 128 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision starting quarterbacks to choose from until the voting for semifinalists closes at noon Central Time (CT) on Sunday, Nov. 1.

Round Two: Nov. 2 – Nov. 22
The Fan Vote will re-open Monday, Nov. 2 following the announcement of the 16 semifinalists. Fans may vote for quarterbacks on the semifinalist list to help determine which three will advance as finalists. Fan voting will close at noon CT on Sunday, Nov. 22.

Round Three: Nov. 24 – Dec. 6
The Fan Vote will re-open for the final round of voting on Tuesday, Nov. 24 following the announcement of the three finalists. Fans may select from the three finalists to help determine the Davey O’Brien Winner. Fan voting will close at noon CT on Sunday, Dec. 6.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $900,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.