Baylor’s Russell nabs Quarterback of the Week accolades

Baylor’s Russell nabs Quarterback of the Week accolades

Courtesy of Baylor Athletics

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 20, 2015) – By virtue of a monster performance both through the air and on the ground, Baylor junior Seth Russell has been named the week seven Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week.

Russell accumulated 540 yards of total offense (380 passing, 160 rushing) while leading the second-ranked Bears past West Virginia, 62-38, on Saturday afternoon. He accounted for six touchdowns, throwing for five scores and rushing for one.

The native of Garland, Texas, is just the second player in Baylor history to post a 300-passing, 100-yard rushing game, joining 2011 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner Robert Griffin III.

Russell’s career-high 160 rushing yards, which came on just 14 carries, were the second-most by a quarterback in school annals. The first-year starter also connected on 20 of 33 pass attempts and did not commit a turnover.

On the year, Russell tops the country in passing touchdowns (27), points responsible for per game (32.0), passing efficiency (210.0) and yards per completion (18.51). In addition, he ranks sixth in the FBS in total offense at 374.2 yards per game.

The junior has also been named Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week and Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week for his efforts against the Mountaineers.

Russell is the third quarterback from the Big 12 Conference to land the Davey O’Brien weekly honor this year. In addition, he is the sixth winner from the league in the past 10 weeks dating back to last year. Included in that group is former Baylor teammate Bryce Petty (Oct. 14, 2014).

All 128 FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly award, which is determined by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee. The other “Great 8” quarterbacks in week seven were: Trevone Boykin of TCU, Washington State’s Luke Falk, Everett Golson of Florida State, Notre Dame’s DeShone Kizer, Memphis’ Paxton Lynch, Dak Prescott of Mississippi State and Deshaun Watson of Clemson.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner will be announced on Dec. 10 during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards. The winner is not required to have won a weekly award during the season. A list of 16 semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 2, while the three finalists will be named on Nov. 24.


2015 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 9 – Josh Rosen (UCLA)

Sept. 15 – Matt Johnson (Bowling Green)

Sept. 22 – Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)

Sept. 29 – Trevone Boykin (TCU)

Oct. 6 – Will Grier (Florida)

Oct. 13 – Joshua Dobbs (Tennessee)

Oct. 20 – Seth Russell (Baylor)