Prescott wins third career Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week award

Prescott wins third career Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week award

QBofWeek_PrescottFORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 27, 2015) – For the first time this season and the third time in his career, 2014 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Year Award finalist Dak Prescott of Mississippi State is the award’s weekly honoree.

In a 42-16 victory over Kentucky on Saturday, Prescott became the first player since 2010 to account for six touchdowns in a Southeastern Conference league game. The six touchdowns responsible for also matched a school record.

The SEC Offensive Player of the Week finished the day 25 of 35 passing for 348 yards and three touchdowns, and also rushed for a season-high 117 yards and three touchdowns. As a result, Prescott became the first player in school history to throw for over 300 yards and rush for more than 100 yards in the same game.

On the year, the native of Haughton, La., is 173 of 260 for 2,048 yards with 14 touchdowns and one interception. In addition, he has rushed 72 times for 371 yards and seven scores. He ranks 12th nationally in points responsible for (128) and 18th in total offense (302.4).

Prescott is the only active FBS player, and just the 17th player ever, to accumulate 7,000-plus career passing yards and at least 2,000 career rushing yards.

In 2014, Prescott was honored twice (Sept. 23 and Oct. 7). Prescott is the third quarterback from the SEC to land the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week award in the past four weeks.

All 128 FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly award, which is determined by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee. The other “Great 8” quarterbacks in week eight were: Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett, Connor Cook of Michigan State, Washington State’s Luke Falk, Cody Kessler of USC, Memphis’ Paxton Lynch, UCLA’s Josh Rosen and Duke’s Thomas Sirk.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner will be announced on Dec. 10 during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards. The winner is not required to have won a weekly award during the season. A list of 16 semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 2, while the three finalists will be named on Nov. 24.


2015 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 9 – Josh Rosen (UCLA)

Sept. 15 – Matt Johnson (Bowling Green)

Sept. 22 – Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)

Sept. 29 – Trevone Boykin (TCU)

Oct. 6 – Will Grier (Florida)

Oct. 13 – Joshua Dobbs (Tennessee)

Oct. 20 – Seth Russell (Baylor)

Oct. 27 – Dak Prescott (Mississippi State)