Tennessee’s Dobbs earns Quarterback of the Week accolades

Tennessee’s Dobbs earns Quarterback of the Week accolades

Dobbs_QBofWeekFORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 13, 2015) – After steering Tennessee to one of the largest comeback wins in school history, junior Joshua Dobbs has been named the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week for week six of the college football season.

The Volunteers trailed 24-3 in the first half before rallying to upend the 19th-ranked Bulldogs, 38-31, to equal the third-largest comeback in program history. Dobbs compiled 430 total yards and contributed to all five touchdowns, throwing for three and running for two.

Dobbs tallied a career-high 312 passing yards, going 25-for-42, and also ran for 118 yards. It marked just the second time in Tennessee history that a Vols quarterback topped 300 yards passing and 100 yards rushing, with both courtesy of Dobbs.

The native of Alpharetta, Ga., currently ranks 20th nationally with 84 points responsible for. In six games, he has totaled 13 touchdowns (eight passing, five rushing and one receiving).

A member of the Davey O’Brien Award’s preseason watch list, he is the second consecutive SEC quarterback to take home the weekly honor and the fourth winner from the league in the past 13 weeks dating back to last year.

All 128 FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly award, which is determined by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee. The other “Great 8” quarterbacks in week six were: Trevone Boykin of TCU, Michigan State’s Connor Cook, Brandon Doughty of Western Kentucky, Luke Falk of Washington State, Northern Illinois’ Drew Hare, Bowling Green’s Matt Johnson and Patrick Mahomes of Texas Tech.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner will be announced on Dec. 10 during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards. The winner is not required to have won a weekly award during the season. A list of 16 semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 2, while the three finalists will be named on Nov. 24.


2015 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 9 – Josh Rosen (UCLA)

Sept. 15 – Matt Johnson (Bowling Green)

Sept. 22 – Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)

Sept. 29 – Trevone Boykin (TCU)

Oct. 6 – Will Grier (Florida)

Oct. 13 – Joshua Dobbs (Tennessee)