Ware to present 2015 Davey O’Brien Award

Ware to present 2015 Davey O’Brien Award

Ware_AndreFORT WORTH, Texas (Dec. 8, 2015) – Andre Ware, the 1989 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner, will present the trophy to the 2015 winner on Thursday night during The Home Depot 25th Anniversary College Football Awards, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced.

The three finalists for the 39th annual Davey O’Brien Award are: TCU senior Trevone Boykin, Oklahoma junior Baker Mayfield and Clemson sophomore Deshaun Watson. The live event, which is being held at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta for the first time, will begin 6 p.m. CT on ESPN.

Ware, who also won the 1989 Heisman Trophy and was a consensus All-America selection, directed Houston’s record-setting offense that averaged better than 50 points and 600 total yards per game. He finished the season 365-of-578 passing (63.1 percent) for 4,699 yards and 46 touchdowns. Along the way, the junior tied or broke 27 all-time NCAA records.

Ware elected to forgo his senior year, and was chosen in the first round (seventh overall) of the 1990 NFL Draft by the Detroit Lions. He played for the Lions (1990-93) and Los Angeles Raiders (1994) in the National Football League. Ware also played for the Canadian Football League’s Ottawa Rough Riders, B.C. Lions and Toronto Argonauts.

Ware was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2004. The native of Galveston, Texas, is also a member of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.





Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .

Please note

This is a widgetized sidebar area and you can place any widget here, as you would with the classic WordPress sidebar.