Barrett snags his first Quarterback of the Week award

Barrett snags his first Quarterback of the Week award

Ohio State junior totaled more than 300 yards and three touchdowns against Wisconsin


FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 18, 2016) – Ohio State junior J.T. Barrett has been named the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week for the first time in his career following his performance in a comeback road win at No. 8 Wisconsin.

Barrett’s 7-yard touchdown pass in overtime was the difference in the Buckeyes’ 30-23 victory on Saturday, and kept Ohio State unbeaten on the year (6-0). On the evening, Barrett was 17 of 29 passing for 226 yards and one touchdown, and also ran 21 times for 92 yards and two scores.

The native of Wichita Falls, Texas, was also named the Big Ten Conference’s co-offensive player of the week after his 13th career game with more than 300 yards of total offense. Barrett’s game-winning touchdown pass made him the school record holder for touchdowns responsible for in a career with 89.

On the season, Barrett ranks seventh nationally in points responsible for (132), 10th in passing efficiency (159.3) and 12th in passing touchdowns (16). A semifinalist for the 2014 Davey O’Brien Award, he is the first Big Ten quarterback to claim the weekly honor in more than two years.

All FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly award, which is determined by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee. The other “Great 8” quarterbacks in week seven were: USC’s Sam Darnold, Eric Dungey of Syracuse, West Virginia’s Skyler Howard, Jalen Hurts of Alabama, Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield, Mitch Trubisky of North Carolina and Clemson’s Deshaun Watson.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation is celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2016 and has granted nearly $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner will be announced on Dec. 8 during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards. The winner is not required to have won a weekly award during the season. A list of 16 semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 10, while the three finalists will be named on Nov. 22. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 10th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner by voting daily at


2016 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 8 – Deondre Francois (Florida State)

Sept. 13 – Lamar Jackson (Louisville)

Sept. 20 – Lamar Jackson (Louisville)

Sept. 27 – Trevor Knight (Texas A&M)

Oct. 4 – Deshaun Watson (Clemson)

Oct. 11 – Jake Browning (Washington)

Oct. 18 – J.T. Barrett (Ohio State)