“Great 8” quarterback list features three first-time honorees

“Great 8” quarterback list features three first-time honorees

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 24, 2016) – Three players appearing on the Davey O’Brien “Great 8” list for the first time in their careers highlight the eight performers named to the exclusive club in week eight of the college football season.

The eight honorees, as determined by voting from the award’s selection subcommittee, include: Jerod Evans of Virginia Tech, Washington State’s Luke Falk, Ben Hicks of SMU, Louisville’s Lamar Jackson, Patrick Mahomes II of Texas Tech, Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield, Brent Stockstill of Middle Tennessee and Navy’s Will Worth.

Evans, Hicks and Stockstill are all first-time honorees. Meanwhile, Jackson appears on the list for the sixth time in 2016. Mahomes and Mayfield are each being recognized for the third time this season, while Falk and Worth are on for the second time.

All 128 FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly honor. The winner of the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week Award, which will be one of the week’s “Great 8” quarterbacks, will be announced Tuesday.

In 1938, Davey O’Brien, who wore No. 8 as a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 10th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner by voting daily at VoteOBrien.org.

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away nearly $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit DaveyOBrien.org.


Week 8 “Great 8” Performances:

Jerod Evans, Virginia Tech, Jr., 6-3, 238, Dallas, Texas

  • Was 21 of 33 for 259 yards and two touchdowns and rushed 13 times for 98 yards and a score in a 37-16 triumph over Miami.


Luke Falk, Washington State, Jr., 6-4, 205, Logan, Utah

  • Threw for 398 yards and three touchdowns with no interceptions, completing 42 of 53 passing attempts, in a 37-32 win over Arizona State.


Ben Hicks, SMU, R-Fr., 6-1, 216, Waco, Texas

  • Led SMU to a victory over its highest ranked opponent since 1983 by going 16-for-31 for 228 yards and three scores and rushing for a touchdown in a 38-16 win over No. 11 Houston.


Lamar Jackson, Louisville, So., 6-3, 205, Boynton Beach, Fla.

  • Collected four touchdowns (three passing, one rushing) and contributed 431 total yards (355 passing, 76 rushing) in a 54-13 victory over NC State.


Patrick Mahomes II, Texas Tech, Jr., 6-3, 230, Whitehouse, Texas

  • Set an NCAA record with 819 yards of total offense, matched the all-time record for passing yards (734) and had seven touchdowns (five passing) in a 66-59 loss to Oklahoma.


Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, Jr., 6-1, 212, Austin, Texas

  • Broke the school record with seven passing touchdowns and was 27 of 36 for 545 yards in a 66-59 victory over Texas Tech.


Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee, So., 6-0, 206, Murfreesboro, Tenn.

  • Led Middle Tennessee to a 51-45 victory over Missouri by connecting on 23 of 41 passes for 280 yards and four touchdowns and rushing seven times for 70 yards.


Will Worth, Navy, Sr., 6-1, 205, Valrico, Fla.

  • Ran for a career-high 201 yards and three touchdowns and was 3 of 4 passing for 85 yards and a pair of touchdowns as Navy upended Memphis 42-28.