Repeat honorees dominate “Great 8” quarterback list

Repeat honorees dominate “Great 8” quarterback list

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 17, 2016) – Of the eight quarterbacks named to this week’s Davey O’Brien “Great 8” list, seven are multi-time honorees this season. In addition, two of the three finalists for the 2015 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award are included.

The eight honorees, as determined by voting from the award’s selection subcommittee, include: J.T. Barrett of Ohio State, USC’s Sam Darnold, Eric Dungey of Syracuse, West Virginia’s Skyler Howard, Jalen Hurts of Alabama, Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield, Mitch Trubisky of North Carolina and Clemson’s Deshaun Watson.

Hurts resides on the list for the fourth time this season, while Barrett and Trubisky are each appearing for the third time. Darnold, Howard, Mayfield and Watson are all honorees for the second time this year. In all, the eight players have earned the distinction a total of 19 times in 2016.

All 128 FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly honor. The winner of the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week Award, which will be one of the week’s “Great 8” quarterbacks, will be announced Tuesday.

In 1938, Davey O’Brien, who wore No. 8 as a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 10th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner by voting daily at

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away nearly $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit


Week 7 “Great 8” Performances:

J.T. Barrett, Ohio State, Jr., 6-2, 222, Wichita Falls, Texas

  • Led Ohio State past No. 8 Wisconsin, 30-23 in overtime, going 17-for-29 for 226 yards and one touchdown, with 92 rushing yards and two scores.


Sam Darnold, USC, R-Fr., 6-4, 225, Capistrano Beach, Calif.

  • Threw five touchdown passes, completing 20 of 32 attempts for 235 yards, and also ran the ball six times for 54 yards in a 48-14 win over Arizona.


Eric Dungey, Syracuse, So., 6-3, 207, Lake Oswego, Ore.

  • Keyed a 31-17 upset of No. 17 Virginia Tech by passing for more than 300 yards (28 of 53, 311 yards, 1 TD) and topping 100 yards rushing (24 carries, 106 yards, 1 TD).


Skyler Howard, West Virginia, Sr., 6-0, 207, Fort Worth, Texas

  • Was 21 for 31 passing for 318 yards and one touchdown and totaled 89 rushing yards and two scores on 12 totes in a 48-17 victory over Texas Tech.


Jalen Hurts, Alabama, Fr., 6-2, 209, Channelview, Texas

  • Rushed for 132 yards and three scores on 12 carries and added 143 passing yards (16 of 26) in Alabama’s 49-10 triumph over No. 9 Tennessee.


Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, Jr., 6-1, 212, Austin, Texas

  • Had just six incompletions (25-for 31 passing, 346 yards) while throwing four touchdown passes in the Sooners’ 38-17 victory over Kansas State.


Mitch Trubisky, North Carolina, Jr., 6-3, 220, Mentor, Ohio

  • Completed 33 of 46 passing attempts for 299 yards and two scores and rushed 13 times for 47 yards in the Tar Heels’ 20-13 upset of No. 16 Miami.


Deshaun Watson, Clemson, Jr., 6-3, 215, Gainesville, Ga.

  • Connected on 39 of 52 passes for 378 yards and two touchdowns and had 13 carries for 35 yards and a score as the Tigers defeated NC State, 24-17.