Latest News

Falk tabbed Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week



FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 9, 2016) – Washington State’s Luke Falk has been named the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week following a prolific performance on Saturday, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced.

Falk threw more touchdown passes (four) than incompletions (three) in a 69-7 victory over Arizona. He finished 32 of 35 passing for 311 yards with no interceptions in just three quarters of action. During one stretch, he completed 22 consecutive passes.

The native of Logan, Utah, set a school record with a 91.4 completion percentage. His completion percentage was the highest for any quarterback nationally with at least 35 pass attempts in a game since 2004.

It is the second time this season that a Pac-12 quarterback has claimed the weekly honor, as Falk joins Washington’s Jake Browning (Oct. 11). Falk was appearing on the Davey O’Brien “Great 8” list for the fourth time this season, which is tied for the second most by any player nationally.

On the year, Falk leads the NCAA in completion percentage (.741) and completions per game (35.3). In addition, he ranks second nationally in passing yards (3,237), fifth in total offense per game (353.7), seventh in passing touchdowns (28), eighth in points responsible for (170) and 16th in passing efficiency (156.7).

All FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly award, which is determined by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee. The other “Great 8” quarterbacks in week 10 were: Browning, Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett, Nick Fitzgerald of Mississippi State, Louisville’s Lamar Jackson, Brad Kaaya of Miami, Oklahoma State’s Mason Rudolph and Wilton Speight of Michigan.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation is celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2016 and has granted nearly $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner will be announced on Dec. 8 during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards. The winner is not required to have won a weekly award during the season. A list of 16 semifinalists will be announced Thursday, while the three finalists will be named on Nov. 22. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 10th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner by voting daily at


2016 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 8 – Deondre Francois (Florida State)

Sept. 13 – Lamar Jackson (Louisville)

Sept. 20 – Lamar Jackson (Louisville)

Sept. 27 – Trevor Knight (Texas A&M)

Oct. 4 – Deshaun Watson (Clemson)

Oct. 11 – Jake Browning (Washington)

Oct. 18 – J.T. Barrett (Ohio State)

Oct. 25 – Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)

Nov. 1 – Deshaun Watson (Clemson)

Nov. 9 – Luke Falk (Washington State)

Recommended for you