Connolly claims Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship

Connolly claims Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship

FORT WORTH, Texas – At its annual luncheon at The Fort Worth Club, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced that Anna Connolly of J.J. Pearce High School in Richardson, Texas, is the recipient of the 31st Annual Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship Award.

The $30,000 scholarship is partially underwritten by Higginbotham and Southwest Bank. Recipients of the Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship are chosen on the basis of scholastic achievements, community service, character, leadership and varsity sports participation.

“We are excited to announce Anna Connolly as this year’s Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship winner,” chairman of the scholarship selection committee David O’Brien Jr. said. “Anna truly measures up to all of the standards for this award.”

A senior, Connolly is a three-year member of the Academic All-District 10-6A softball team while playing for the Mustangs. With a 102.74 grade-point average on a 100-point weighted scale, she ranks fifth in her class of 500 students.

She is the President of the National Honor Society and a peer mentor for the J.J. Pearce Starting Out Strong program. In addition, Connolly is a member of the school’s safety and inclusivity task force.

Connolly also is the recipient of the Girl Scout Gold Award, the highest award earned within Girl Scouts, and has volunteered for three years at the UT Dallas Science & Engineering Education Center.

She is the second-ever winner from J.J. Pearce, joining Lindsey Leininger (1994). J.J. Pearce becomes the ninth school with multiple winners.

Since its inception in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away nearly $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field to leadership in life.

The High School Scholarship, first awarded in 1986, applies to the college or university of the winner’s choice. Winners over the past decade have attended Columbia University, Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Princeton University, Rice University, Stanford University, Texas A&M University, Vanderbilt University and Yale University.

The Foundation will also award a $2,500 scholarship to each of the four other finalists: Madeline Ngo (Highland Park High School), Jacob Palisch (Jesuit College Preparatory School), Vivian Weinman (Southwest Christian School) and Christopher Wines (Trinity Christian Academy).

Connolly will be honored Monday, Feb. 20, at the 40th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner. The other honorees include: Clemson’s Deshaun Watson, the two-time winner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, Jim McMahon, the Davey O’Brien Legends Award recipient, and Scott Murray, the Charles Ringler Founder’s Award honoree.

A limited number of individual tickets for the dinner are available in the Sunset Room for $200 each, a portion of which is tax deductible. Please contact the Davey O’Brien Foundation at (817) 338-3488 for more information.


About the Davey O’Brien Foundation
The Davey O’Brien Foundation was founded in 1977 to honor and remember the strong character and leadership of football great, Davey O’Brien. Widely known for its Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Foundation recognizes champions on and off the field through awards programs encouraging academic and career success. The Foundation has given away nearly $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field to leadership in life. For more information, visit

About Higginbotham
Higginbotham is a single source solution for insurance and financial services that brokers business insurance, employee benefits, retirement plans, executive benefits, life insurance and home/auto insurance from more than 250 regional and national carriers. It supplements coverage with comprehensive risk management and benefit plan administration. The firm was founded in 1948 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, with more than 25 additional offices statewide. It ranks by revenue as the largest independent insurance firm based in Texas (Business Insurance, July 2016). The Higginbotham Community Fund was established in 2011 to support charitable causes throughout Texas by distributing grants to nonprofit organizations. To date, the fund has raised more than $1 million through employee contributions and pledges. Visit for more information.

About Southwest Bank
Proudly serving North Texas for 50 years, Southwest Bank is the largest, locally owned, independent bank in Tarrant County. In addition to full-service banking centers in Fort Worth, Dallas, Arlington, Burleson, Grapevine, Mansfield and Saginaw, Southwest Bank maintains mortgage offices in Fort Worth, Dallas and Austin. Southwest Bank values its customers and believes in building loyal, lasting relationships through personalized service, honesty and integrity. For more information, visit Member FDIC.