Press conference credential information

Press conference credential information

FORT WORTH, Texas (Feb. 1, 2017) – The Davey O’Brien Foundation is now accepting media credential requests for the press conference prior to the 40th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Monday, Feb. 20, at the Fort Worth Club.

Winners of all four of the Foundation’s awards–Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award (Deshaun Watson), Davey O’Brien Legends Award (Jim McMahon), Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship (Anna Connolly) and Charles Ringler Founder’s Award (Scott Murray)–will be on hand for the 4:30 p.m. press conference.

Watson is just the fourth player to win the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award twice (2015, 2016). As a junior, he guided the Tigers to a 14-1 overall record and the school’s first national championship since 1981. Watson finished third nationally in passing yards (4,593), passing touchdowns (41) and points responsible for (304), and was fifth in total offense per game (348.1). On the year, he amassed 5,222 yards of total offense while accounting for 50 total touchdowns. Watson completed 388-of-579 passes (67.0 percent) for 4,593 yards and 41 touchdowns, while rushing for 629 yards and nine scores.

McMahon, this year’s Davey O’Brien Legends Award recipient, was the inaugural winner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award in 1981. He becomes the first player to be honored by the foundation both as a collegian and following a professional career. McMahon was a two-time All-American (1980, 1981) at BYU and had a 15-year NFL career that included leading the Chicago Bears to a victory in Super Bowl XX.

Connolly is the 31st winner of the Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship issued to an outstanding high school senior student-athlete in North Texas on the basis of character, community service, leadership, scholarship and varsity sports participation. Connolly is an academic all-district softball player at J.J. Pearce High School in Richardson, ranks fifth in her class of 500 students and is a recipient of the Girl Scouts’ Gold Award.

Murray, the Charles Ringler Founder’s Award winner, joined the Davey O’Brien Foundation’s Board of Trustees in 1993, and has served as the dinner’s emcee as well as chairman of the Legends Award and Founder’s Award committees during his time. A longtime sports personality and event emcee, Murray received the Silver Circle Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in 2012.

The formal press conference, which will be moderated by Murray, will begin at 4:30 p.m. One-on-one interview opportunities for all radio and television outlets will follow. Print media will have an opportunity to sit down with the award winners 30 minutes prior to the start of the press conference.

To request a credential, please contact Drew Harris at Credentials will be available for pickup on the 11th floor of The Fort Worth Club on Monday, Feb. 20 beginning at 3:30 p.m.

When making a request, please include the attendee’s name, affiliation and any specific requests. With advance notice, live television interviews during 5 p.m. or 6 p.m. newscasts with current or former winners in attendance are possible.


Davey O’Brien Awards Press Conference Information


Monday, Feb. 20

3:30 p.m. – Credential Pick-Up/Registration

4 p.m. – Print Media Availability

4:30 p.m. – Press Conference

5 p.m./6 p.m. – Live TV Interviews



The Fort Worth Club – 11th Floor

306 West 7th Street, Fort Worth, TX 76102



Deshaun Watson, Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Winner (Clemson)

Jim McMahon, Davey O’Brien Legends Award Recipient (College Football Hall of Fame)

Anna Connolly, Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship Recipient (J.J. Pearce High School)

Scott Murray, Charles Ringler Founder’s Award Recipient (Davey O’Brien Foundation)



Drew Harris, Communications Director

Phone: (254) 716-8573


Instagram has returned invalid data.