Mayfield collects Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week accolade

Mayfield collects Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week accolade

Oklahoma senior was dominant in second half of victory over No. 2 Ohio State 

FORT WORTH, Texas (Sept. 12, 2017) – For the fourth time in his career, Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield has been named the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week, the foundation announced today.

The senior threw for nearly 400 yards (27-of-35, 386 yards) and fired three touchdown strikes, all in the second half, to lead Oklahoma to a 31-16 victory at No. 2 Ohio State. After halftime, Mayfield was 16-of-17 for 228 yards and three scores.

Through two games this season, the native of Austin, Texas, has completed 83.6 percent of his passes (46 for 55) for 715 yards and six touchdowns with no interceptions for a 228.8 NCAA quarterback rating. For his efforts on Saturday, Mayfield also was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week for the second straight week.

Mayfield is a two-time finalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award (2015, 2016). He is the first Big 12 quarterback to win the weekly award since he accomplished the feat on Oct. 25, 2016. He also was the Quarterback of the Week twice in 2015 (Sept. 22 and Nov. 17).

All FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly accolade, which is determined by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee. The other “Great 8” quarterbacks in week two were: Sam Darnold of USC, Oregon’s Justin Herbert, Lamar Jackson of Louisville, Duke’s Daniel Jones, Shane Morris of Central Michigan, Iowa’s Nate Stanley and Brent Stockstill of Middle Tennessee.

Since its founding in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has distributed more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner will be announced on Dec. 7 during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards. The winner is not required to have won a weekly award during the season. A list of 16 semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 7, while the three finalists will be named on Nov. 21.

The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 11th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Visit daily to vote.


2017 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 7 – Josh Rosen (UCLA)

Sept. 12 – Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)