Mississippi State’s Fitzgerald named Quarterback of the Week

Mississippi State’s Fitzgerald named Quarterback of the Week

Junior accounted for four touchdowns in impressive win over LSU


FORT WORTH, Texas (Sept. 19, 2017) – Mississippi State’s Nick Fitzgerald has been named the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week for his performance on Saturday against No. 7 LSU, according to a vote by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee.

Fitzgerald helped guide the Bulldogs to a dominating 37-7 win by accounting for four touchdowns. The SEC Offensive Player of the Week also totaled 268 yards of offense. Entering the game, LSU had allowed just 10 total points and an average of 169.5 yards of offense per contest.

Fitzgerald completed 15-of-23 passes for 180 yards and two touchdowns, and added 88 yards rushing (6.3 yards per carry) with two ground scores. The 30-point margin of victory was the largest for Mississippi State in its 111-game series against the Tigers.

In three games this season, Fitzgerald has thrown seven touchdown passes against just one interception, and has collected five rushing touchdowns. He ranks third nationally in points responsible for (72).

Fitzgerald is the first SEC quarterback to grab the weekly award since Alabama’s Jalen Hurts on Nov. 15, 2016. He joins three-time honoree Dak Prescott (Sept. 23, 2014; Oct. 7, 2014; Oct. 27, 2015) as Quarterback of the Week winners from Mississippi State.

The other “Great 8” quarterbacks in week three were: Kelly Bryant of Clemson, Washington State’s Luke Falk, Riley Ferguson of Memphis, Wisconsin’s Alex Hornibrook, Mason Rudolph of Oklahoma State, Texas Tech’s Nic Shimonek and Logan Woodside of Toledo.

Since its founding in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has distributed more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner will be announced on Dec. 7 during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards. The winner is not required to have won a weekly award during the season. A list of 16 semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 7, while the three finalists will be named on Nov. 21.

The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 11th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Visit VoteOBrien.org daily to vote.


2017 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 7 – Josh Rosen (UCLA)

Sept. 12 – Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)

Sept. 19 – Nick Fitzgerald (Mississippi State)