Iowa State’s Kempt voted Quarterback of the Week

Iowa State’s Kempt voted Quarterback of the Week

Senior walk-on threw three touchdowns in Cyclones’ win at No. 3 Oklahoma


FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 10, 2017) – With a heroic performance in his first career start, directing the Cyclones to a stunning 38-31 upset at No. 3 Oklahoma, Iowa State senior Kyle Kempt was voted the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week for week six of the college football season.

Kempt completed 18 of 24 passes for 343 yards and three touchdowns as Iowa State snapped an 18-game series losing streak to the Sooners. It was ISU’s first win in Norman, Okla., since 1990 and was the program’s first-ever victory over an Associated Press top-5 opponent on the road.

The Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week tossed a 25-yard touchdown pass with 2:19 left to lift the Cyclones to the victory. Iowa State had a 14-point deficit in the first half and trailed 24-13 at halftime. Prior to Saturday, Kempt had attempted two career passes.

Kempt is the first Iowa State quarterback ever to win the Davey O’Brien weekly award. He is the third Big 12 player honored this season, joining Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield and TCU’s Kenny Hill.

The other “Great 8” quarterbacks in week six were: Zach Abey of Navy, Buffalo’s Drew Anderson, Sam Ehlinger of Texas, Memphis’ Riley Ferguson, McKenzie Milton of UCF, Arizona’s Khalil Tate and Jon Wassink of Western Michigan.

Since its founding in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has distributed more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner will be announced on Dec. 7 during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards. The winner is not required to have won a weekly award during the season. A list of 16 semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 7, while the three finalists will be named on Nov. 21.

The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 11th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Visit daily to vote.


2017 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 7 – Josh Rosen (UCLA)

Sept. 12 – Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)

Sept. 19 – Nick Fitzgerald (Mississippi State)

Sept. 26 – Kenny Hill (TCU)

Oct. 3 – Luke Falk (Washington State)

Oct. 10 – Kyle Kempt (Iowa State)