Ohio State’s Barrett named Quarterback of Week again

Ohio State’s Barrett named Quarterback of Week again

Senior had school-record 423 total yards and threw four touchdowns versus Penn State


FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 31, 2017) – For the second time in three weeks, Ohio State senior J.T. Barrett has been named the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week. He is the first two-time winner in 2017, and has now claimed the accolade three times in his prolific career.

On Saturday, the Buckeyes recorded a stunning 39-38 victory over then-No. 2 Penn State, coming from 15 points down in the final five-plus minutes to claim the win. In the fourth quarter, Barrett was 13-for-13 passing for 170 yards and three touchdowns.

For the day, Barrett completed 33-of-39 passes for 328 yards and four touchdowns. He added 95 rushing yards to set an Ohio State record with 423 yards of total offense. He also completed his final 16 passes to break the school standard for consecutive completions.

On the year, the native of Wichita Falls, Texas, ranks third nationally in points responsible for (182), touchdown passes (25) and passing efficiency (176.2). He also is among the NCAA top 10 in completion percentage (5th, .695) and total offense (9th, 327.5). In addition, Barrett has thrown just one interception in 246 pass attempts this year.

The two-time Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award semifinalist (2014, 2016) was also named the Big Ten Conference Offensive Player of the Week. This marked the third time this year that Barrett appeared on the Davey O’Brien Great 8 list (Week 4, Week 7).

The award has now been won by a Big Ten Conference quarterback each of the past three weeks. Barrett was previously honored on Oct. 18, 2016 and Oct. 17, 2017.

The other “Great 8” quarterbacks in week nine were: Riley Ferguson of Memphis, Idaho’s Matt Linehan, Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma, Colorado’s Steven Montez, Khalil Tate of Arizona, Northwestern’s Clayton Thorson and John Wolford of Wake Forest.

Since its founding in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has distributed more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner will be announced on Dec. 7 during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards. The winner is not required to have won a weekly award during the season. A list of 16 semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 7, while the three finalists will be named on Nov. 21.

The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 11th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Visit VoteOBrien.org daily to vote.


2017 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 7 – Josh Rosen (UCLA)

Sept. 12 – Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)

Sept. 19 – Nick Fitzgerald (Mississippi State)

Sept. 26 – Kenny Hill (TCU)

Oct. 3 – Luke Falk (Washington State)

Oct. 10 – Kyle Kempt (Iowa State)

Oct. 17 – J.T. Barrett (Ohio State)

Oct. 24 – Trace McSorley (Penn State)

Oct. 31 – J.T. Barrett (Ohio State)