Latest News

Great 8 list for Week 10 unveiled



FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 8, 2017) – Representatives from eight different conferences comprise the Davey O’Brien Award’s Great 8 for the 10th week of the college football season. Fifty-four different quarterbacks have now earned the honor through the season’s first 10 weeks.

The eight honorees, as determined by voting from the award’s selection subcommittee, are: A.J. Erdely of UAB, ULM’s Caleb Evans, Luke Falk of Washington State, Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield, Frank Nutile of Temple, Iowa’s Nate Stanley, Jarrett Stidham of Auburn and Toledo’s Logan Woodside.

All 130 FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly honor. The winner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Award, which will be one of the week’s “Great 8” quarterbacks, will be announced Thursday.

In 1938, Davey O’Brien, who wore No. 8 as a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Recommended for you