Latest News

Mayfield becomes first-ever five-time weekly winner



Oklahoma senior threw for a school-record 598 yards against Oklahoma State


FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 9, 2017) – Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield became the second player in the country to claim Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week honors twice in 2017. It is his fifth career honor, the most by any player.

Mayfield set school records for passing yards (598), passing yards in a half (387) and total offense (589) while accounting for six touchdowns (five passing) in a 62-52 win at No. 11 Oklahoma State on Saturday.

Mayfield was 24-for-36 through the air (66.7 percent) and averaged 16.6 yards per attempt and 24.9 yards per completion. His 598 yards were the most by an FBS player this season and second most over the past three seasons, while his 240.9 passing efficiency rating in the contest ranks as the second best in school history (minimum of 25 attempts).

No FBS quarterback in the history of college football has thrown for as many yards with as few pass attempts (36) or pass completions (24) as Baker Mayfield’s 598 Saturday. He also set an FBS single-game record with his 24.9 yards per completion (min. 22 completions). The former record was 22.9.

Mayfield is a two-time (2015, 2016) finalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. He previously was named the Foundation’s Quarterback of the Week twice in 2015 (Sept. 22 and Nov. 17), once in 2016 (Oct. 25) and again in 2017 (Sept. 12).

The other “Great 8” quarterbacks in week 10 were: A.J. Erdely of UAB, ULM’s Caleb Evans, Luke Falk of Washington State, Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield, Frank Nutile of Temple, Iowa’s Nate Stanley, Jarrett Stidham of Auburn and Toledo’s Logan Woodside.

Since its founding in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has distributed more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner will be announced on Dec. 7 during ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards. The three finalists will be named on Nov. 21. The winner is not required to have won a weekly award during the season.

The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 11th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Visit daily to vote.


2017 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 7 – Josh Rosen (UCLA)

Sept. 12 – Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)

Sept. 19 – Nick Fitzgerald (Mississippi State)

Sept. 26 – Kenny Hill (TCU)

Oct. 3 – Luke Falk (Washington State)

Oct. 10 – Kyle Kempt (Iowa State)

Oct. 17 – J.T. Barrett (Ohio State)

Oct. 24 – Trace McSorley (Penn State)

Oct. 31 – J.T. Barrett (Ohio State)

Nov. 8 – Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma)

Recommended for you