O’Brien Award announces Week 11 Great 8 list

O’Brien Award announces Week 11 Great 8 list

FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 13, 2017) – Three perennial honorees that have combined for 14 Great 8 awards this season are among the Davey O’Brien Award’s top quarterbacks for week 11.

The eight honorees, as determined by voting from the award’s selection subcommittee, are: Lamar Jackson of Louisville, Buffalo’s Tyree Jackson, Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State’s Mason Rudolph, Brett Rypien of Boise State, Texas A&M’s Nick Starkel, Jarrett Stidham of Auburn and Wake Forest’s John Wolford.

Fifty-nine different quarterbacks have now earned the honor through the season’s first 11 weeks. Mayfield has been named to the Great 8 four consecutive weeks and increased his nation-leading total to six this year. Rudolph and Lamar Jackson, who each have been honored four times, rank tied for second in the country.

All 130 FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly honor. The winner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Award, which will be one of the week’s “Great 8” quarterbacks, will be announced Tuesday.

In 1938, Davey O’Brien, who wore No. 8 as a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit DaveyOBrien.org.

Instagram has returned invalid data.