Mikayla Wilson nets Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship

Mikayla Wilson nets Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship

FORT WORTH, Texas (Jan. 23, 2018) – At its annual luncheon at The Fort Worth Club, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced that Mikayla Wilson of Green B. Trimble Technical High School in Fort Worth is the recipient of the 32nd Annual Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship Award.

Wilson is the first-ever winner from Trimble Tech, and is the second winner from the Fort Worth Independent School District (FWISD) in the past four years. Since the award’s inception in 1986, she is the sixth winner from the district.

The $30,000 scholarship is partially underwritten by Higginbotham and Southwest Bank. Recipients of the Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship are chosen on the basis of scholastic achievements, community service, character, leadership and varsity sports participation.

“We are excited to announce that Mikayla Wilson has been selected as this year’s Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship winner,” chairman of the scholarship selection committee David O’Brien Jr. said. “Mikayla is a truly impressive young woman, and we know she will continue the strong legacy established by all the previous recipients.”

Wilson is ranked first in her class of 361 students at Trimble Tech with a 4.46 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale. She is a two-year President of the National Honor Society and a member of Key Club International. In addition, she has received major awards from the FWISD four times, as she was named a Superintendent Scholar and also collected three Ann Brannon Awards.

As a junior, she secured the George Eastman Young Leaders Award. She also has been involved in the Natural Helpers Club and student council. Wilson is interested in pursing astrophysics.

“Mikayla is a young woman I know is headed for success,” Trimble Tech College and Career Readiness Coach My Jones wrote in her letter of recommendation. “She possesses a charismatic personality, whose positivity radiates around her. There is no doubt in my mind that Mikayla will thrive in whatever situation she is placed in.”

Wilson has competed on the Bulldogs’ varsity softball team since her freshman year, and is a three-time all-district performer heading into her senior season. She has earned District 7-5A first-team honors once and second-team accolades twice. She also participated in volleyball for three years.

Wilson has been active in community service, most extensively with youth at the RD Evans Community Center. She also has been involved with Beat the Streets, Mobile Food Pantry, Optimist Club, Turkey Trot and Honored Hero Run.

“Mikayla has a true servant’s heart,” Trimble Tech softball coach and geometry teacher Ladine Thomas wrote. “As a coach and educator, I feel blessed to have gotten to spend time with Mikayla on her journey. All too often we find ourselves wishing to have one or two more just like these ‘special kids.’ She will do amazing things.”

Since its inception in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field to leadership in life.

The High School Scholarship, first awarded in 1986, applies to the college or university of the winner’s choice. Winners over the past decade have attended such schools as Columbia University, Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Princeton University, Rice University, Stanford University, Texas A&M University, Vanderbilt University and Yale University.

The Foundation will also award a $2,500 scholarship to each of this year’s five other finalists: Sophie Isom (The Hockaday School), Ainsley McDonald-Boyer (Azle High School), Brandon Parrish (Joshua High School), Michael Smat (All Saints’ Episcopal School) and Mason Ward (Keller High School).

Wilson will be honored Monday, Feb. 19, at the 41st Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner alongside Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma.

A limited number of individual tickets for the dinner are available in the Sunset Room for $200 each, a portion of which is tax deductible. Please contact the Davey O’Brien Foundation at (817) 338-3488 for more information.



About the Davey O’Brien Foundation

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was founded in 1977 to honor and remember the strong character and leadership of football great, Davey O’Brien. Widely known for its Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Foundation recognizes champions on and off the field through awards programs encouraging academic and career success. The Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field to leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.


About Higginbotham

Higginbotham is a single source solution for insurance and financial services that brokers business insurance, employee benefits, retirement plans, executive benefits, life insurance and home/auto insurance from more than 250 regional and national carriers. It supplements coverage with comprehensive risk management and benefit plan administration. The firm was founded in 1948 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, with more than 25 additional offices in the state and Oklahoma City. It ranks by revenue as the largest independent insurance firm based in Texas (Business Insurance, July 2017). The Higginbotham Community Fund was established in 2011 to support charitable causes in the firm’s markets by distributing grants to nonprofit organizations. To date, the fund has raised more than $1.4 million through employee contributions and pledges. Visit  www.Higginbotham.net for more information.


About Southwest Bank

Proudly serving North Texas for 50 years, Southwest Bank is the largest, locally owned, independent bank in Tarrant County. In addition to full-service banking centers in Fort Worth, Dallas, Arlington, Burleson, Grapevine, Mansfield and Saginaw, Southwest Bank maintains mortgage offices in Fort Worth, Dallas and Austin. Southwest Bank values its customers and believes in building loyal, lasting relationships through personalized service, honesty and integrity. For more information, visit www.SouthwestBank.com. Member FDIC.