Oklahoma’s Murray tabbed Quarterback of Week

Oklahoma’s Murray tabbed Quarterback of Week

Junior accounted for five touchdowns and 375 yards of offense


FORT WORTH, Texas (Sept. 13, 2018) – For the second time in as many weeks, the Big 12 Conference is home to the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week, as Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray grabbed the honor for week two.

Murray, the Big 12 Conference Offensive Player of the Week, accounted for five touchdowns in the Sooners’ 49-21 victory over UCLA. He finished the day 19-for-33 passing for 306 yards and three touchdowns. He also rushed 10 times for a team-best 69 yards and a pair of scores.

The native of Allen, Texas, became just the third Sooner since 1996 to throw for over 300 yards and rush for at least 65 yards, joining Trevor Knight and 2017 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner Baker Mayfield.

The other Great 8 quarterbacks in the season’s second week were: Blake Barnett of USF, Georgia’s Jake Fromm, D’Eriq King of Houston, Texas A&M’s Kellen Mond, Steven Montez of Colorado, Kentucky’s Terry Wilson and Manny Wilkins of Arizona State.

The announcement was made on Thursday’s edition of the Punt & Pass Podcast.

Eighty years ago, O’Brien, a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year (1938). He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 12th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Fans may vote daily for their favorite quarterback at VoteOBrien.org.

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.


2018 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 6 – Will Grier, West Virginia

Sept. 13 – Kyler Murray, Oklahoma

Instagram has returned invalid data.