Texas Tech freshman Bowman named QB of Week

Texas Tech freshman Bowman named QB of Week

FORT WORTH, Texas (Sept. 20, 2018) – Texas Tech true freshman Alan Bowman has been voted the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week for week three, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced in conjunction with the Punt & Pass Podcast. The Big 12 Conference has now boasted the winner in all three weeks to start the 2018 season.

Bowman passed for more than 600 yards and fired five touchdown passes in a 63-49 victory over previously unbeaten Houston. The Big 12 Conference Newcomer of the Week finished the day 43-for-59 (.728) through the air for 605 yards.

In his second career start, Bowman broke the Big 12 freshman single-game passing yardage record, and his total was just six yards shy of the all-time NCAA freshman mark.

It marked the third time in FBS history that a freshman passed for at least 600 yards in a game, and it was the 18th 600-yard passing game in FBS annals. Bowman’s 605 yards passing are the most by a FBS quarterback in 2018. On Sunday, the native of Grapevine, Texas, was also named the Walter Camp National Player of the Week.

The other Great 8 quarterbacks in the season’s third week were: Boston College’s Anthony Brown, Taylor Cornelius of Oklahoma State, Ohio State’s Dwayne Haskins, Kelvin Hopkins Jr. of Army West Point, Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray, Kato Nelson of Akron and Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa.

The announcement was made on Thursday’s edition of the Punt & Pass Podcast.

Eighty years ago, O’Brien, a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year (1938). He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 12th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Fans may vote daily for their favorite quarterback at VoteOBrien.org.

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.


2018 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 6 – Will Grier, West Virginia

Sept. 13 – Kyler Murray, Oklahoma

Sept. 20 – Alan Bowman, Texas Tech

Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.