Davey O’Brien “Great 8” quarterbacks announced for Week 5

Davey O’Brien “Great 8” quarterbacks announced for Week 5

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 1, 2018) – Six juniors and two seniors comprise the eight honorees on the Davey O’Brien Award’s “Great 8” list for week five, the Davey O’Brien Foundation and Punt & Pass Podcast jointly announced on Monday.

The eight honorees, as determined by voting from the award’s selection subcommittee, are: Ian Book of Notre Dame, LSU’s Joe Burrow, Will Grier of West Virginia, Fresno State’s Marcus McMaryion, McKenzie Milton of UCF, Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray, Nathan Rourke of Ohio and Western Michigan’s Jon Wassink.

All FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly honor. Thus far, 30 different quarterbacks have been named to the Great 8 in 2018. Murray leads the nation after securing his fourth honor, while Book, Grier and Milton became two-time recipients this year.

The winner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Award, which will be one of the week’s “Great 8” quarterbacks, will be announced Wednesday. To listen to the announcement and discussion of this week’s Great 8 on the Punt & Pass Podcast, click here.

Eighty years ago, O’Brien, who wore No. 8 as a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year (1938). He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 12th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner by voting daily at VoteOBrien.org.

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit DaveyOBrien.org.


Week 5 “Great 8” Performances:

Ian Book, Notre Dame, Jr., 6-0, 203, El Dorado Hills, Calif.

  • Was 24-for-33 for 278 yards and four touchdowns through the air, and added 47 rushing yards, in an impressive 38-17 victory over No. 7 Stanford.


Joe Burrow, LSU, Jr., 6-4, 216, The Plains, Ohio

  • Accounted for nearly 400 yards of total offense (292 passing, 96 rushing) and four touchdowns (three passing, one rushing) in a 45-16 win versus Ole Miss.


Will Grier, West Virginia, Sr., 6-2, 223, Charlotte, N.C.

  • Connected on 27 of 41 pass attempts for 371 yards and three touchdowns with no interceptions to lead the Mountaineers past No. 25 Texas Tech, 42-34.


Marcus McMaryion, Fresno State, Sr., 6-2, 203, Dinuba, Calif.

  • Completed 24 of 31 passes for 368 yards and four touchdowns and also had a ground score in a 49-27 victory over Toledo.


McKenzie Milton, UCF, Jr., 5-11, 185, Kapolei, Hawaii

  • Totaled six touchdowns (four passing, two rushing) and 379 yards (328 passing, 51 rushing) in a 45-14 rout of Pittsburgh.


Kyler Murray, Oklahoma, Jr., 5-10, 195, Allen, Texas

  • Threw more touchdown passes (6) than incompletions (17-for-21, 432 yards), and added 45 rushing yards and a score, in a 66-33 triumph over Baylor.


Nathan Rourke, Ohio, Jr., 6-2, 208, Oakville, Ontario, Canada

  • Carried 16 times for 189 yards and a touchdown and was 23-for-32 throwing for 270 yards and three TDs in a 58-42 victory over UMass.


Jon Wassink, Western Michigan, Jr., 6-2, 200, Grand Rapids, Mich.

  • Was 27-of-42 for 439 yards and five touchdowns, including four in the second half, and had 38 rushing yards and a score in a 40-39 comeback win over Miami (Ohio).