Houston’s King crowned National Quarterback of Week

Houston’s King crowned National Quarterback of Week

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 31, 2018) – Houston’s D’Eriq King has been voted the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week for week nine, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced.

On Saturday, King led the Cougars to a convincing 57-36 victory over previously unbeaten and 21st-ranked USF. He amassed 551 total yards and accounted for seven touchdowns, five passing and two rushing, against the Bulls.

Through the air, King completed 28 of 40 passes for 419 yards. He added 132 yards on the ground on just 12 carries. King has also been named the Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week and The American Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Week.

On the year, the native of Manvel, Texas, leads the nation in points responsible for (236). King also ranks among the NCAA’s top 10 in total quarterback ranking (3rd, 87.6), passing touchdowns (3rd, 28), total offense per game (4th, 352.0), passing efficiency (6th, 173.0), passing yards (6th, 2,403) and rushing touchdowns (6th, 11).

The Punt & Pass Podcast hosted by Drew Butler and Aaron Murray will discuss King’s achievement on Thursday’s edition of the show.

The other Great 8 quarterbacks in the season’s ninth week were: Taylor Cornelius of Oklahoma State, Syracuse’s Eric Dungey, Nick Fitzgerald of Mississippi State, Georgia’s Jake Fromm, Jordan Love of Utah State, Washington State’s Gardner Minshew and Kyler Murray of Oklahoma.

Eighty years ago, O’Brien, a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year (1938). He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 12th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Fans may vote daily for their favorite quarterback at VoteOBrien.org.

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.


2018 Week-by-Week Winners:

Week 1 – Will Grier, West Virginia (Sept. 6)

Week 2 – Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Sept. 13)

Week 3 – Alan Bowman, Texas Tech (Sept. 20)

Week 4 – Blake LaRussa, Old Dominion (Sept. 26)

Week 5 – Ian Book, Notre Dame (Oct. 3)

Week 6 – Sam Ehlinger, Texas (Oct. 10)

Week 7 – Nate Stanley, Iowa (Oct. 17)

Week 8 – David Blough, Purdue (Oct. 24)

Week 9 – D’Eriq King (Oct. 31)

Instagram has returned invalid data.