Iowa’s Stanley named National Quarterback of Week

Iowa’s Stanley named National Quarterback of Week

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 17, 2018) – Iowa junior Nate Stanley has been named the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week for week seven, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced.

In a 42-16 victory over Indiana on Saturday, Stanley completed 21 of 32 passes (65.6 percent) for 320 yards and a career-best six touchdowns. The six touchdown passes rank as the second most in a game in school history, matching 1985 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner Chuck Long.

Stanley’s 300-yard passing game was his third in his last four outings. The native of Menomonie, Wis., has thrown 14 touchdown passes in his last four games, tying Long for the most ever by a Hawkeye in a four-game span.

This week, Stanley has also been named the Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week and Big Ten Co-Offensive Player of the Week. Stanley is the first Big Ten Conference quarterback to be named the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week this season. The Punt & Pass Podcast hosted by Drew Butler and Aaron Murray will discuss Stanley’s achievement on Thursday’s edition of the show.

The other Great 8 quarterbacks in the season’s seventh week were: LSU’s Joe Burrow, Jarrett Guarantano of Tennessee, Utah’s Tyler Huntley, Jordan Love of Utah State, FIU’s James Morgan, Andre Nunez of Louisiana and Iowa State’s Brock Purdy.

Eighty years ago, O’Brien, a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year (1938). He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 12th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Fans may vote daily for their favorite quarterback at

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit


2018 Week-by-Week Winners:

Week 1 – Will Grier, West Virginia (Sept. 6)

Week 2 – Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Sept. 13)

Week 3 – Alan Bowman, Texas Tech (Sept. 20)

Week 4 – Blake LaRussa, Old Dominion (Sept. 26)

Week 5 – Ian Book, Notre Dame (Oct. 3)

Week 6 – Sam Ehlinger, Texas (Oct. 10)

Week 7 – Nate Stanley, Iowa (Oct. 17)

Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.