Notre Dame’s Book named Quarterback of Week

Notre Dame’s Book named Quarterback of Week

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 3, 2018) – Notre Dame junior Ian Book is the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week for week five, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced.

Book guided the Fighting Irish to a 38-17 victory over No. 7 Stanford on Saturday night. Through the air, he was 24-for-33 for 278 yards and four touchdowns with no interceptions. He also added 47 rushing yards on 15 carries.

Book’s final two touchdown passes came on consecutive throws in the fourth quarter to blow open a 7-point game. On Monday, he became one of just four quarterbacks in the nation to earn Davey O’Brien Great 8 accolades in back-to-back weeks in 2018.

The other Great 8 quarterbacks in the season’s fifth week were: LSU’s Joe Burrow, Will Grier of West Virginia, Fresno State’s Marcus McMaryion, McKenzie Milton of UCF, Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray, Nathan Rourke of Ohio and Western Michigan’s Jon Wassink.

The Punt & Pass Podcast will discuss Book on Thursday’s edition of the show.

Eighty years ago, O’Brien, a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year (1938). He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 12th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Fans may vote daily for their favorite quarterback at

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit


2018 Week-by-Week Winners:

Week 1 – Will Grier, West Virginia (Sept. 6)

Week 2 – Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Sept. 13)

Week 3 – Alan Bowman, Texas Tech (Sept. 20)

Week 4 – Blake LaRussa, Old Dominion (Sept. 26)

Week 5 – Ian Book, Notre Dame (Oct. 3)

Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.