Purdue’s Blough earns National Quarterback of Week honor

Purdue’s Blough earns National Quarterback of Week honor

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 24, 2018) – Purdue senior David Blough has been named the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week for week eight, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced. He is the second straight winner from the Big Ten Conference.

On Saturday, Blough directed the Boilermakers to a convincing 49-20 upset victory over No. 2 Ohio State. The 49 points were the most ever scored by Purdue against the Buckeyes, and the win was the Boilermakers’ first over a top-two team since 1984.

Blough, the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week, completed 25 of 43 passes for 378 yards and three touchdowns with no interceptions. It was his third straight 300-yard passing game and fourth this season.

Over his last five games, he has thrown for 1,951 yards (390.2 per game), completing 135 of 204 passes with 13 touchdowns and two interceptions. On the year, the native of Carrollton, Texas, ranks 10th nationally in passing yards (2,073), 14th in total offense per game (302.3) and 18th in passing efficiency (159.1).

The Punt & Pass Podcast hosted by Drew Butler and Aaron Murray will discuss Blough’s achievement on Thursday’s edition of the show.

The other Great 8 quarterbacks in the season’s eighth week were: Utah’s Tyler Huntley, Drew Lock of Missouri, Washington State’s Gardner Minshew, Kyler Murray of Oklahoma, Boise State’s Brett Rypien, Isaiah Sanders of Air Force and Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa.

Eighty years ago, O’Brien, a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year (1938). He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 12th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Fans may vote daily for their favorite quarterback at VoteOBrien.org.

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.


2018 Week-by-Week Winners:

Week 1 – Will Grier, West Virginia (Sept. 6)

Week 2 – Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Sept. 13)

Week 3 – Alan Bowman, Texas Tech (Sept. 20)

Week 4 – Blake LaRussa, Old Dominion (Sept. 26)

Week 5 – Ian Book, Notre Dame (Oct. 3)

Week 6 – Sam Ehlinger, Texas (Oct. 10)

Week 7 – Nate Stanley, Iowa (Oct. 17)

Week 8 – David Blough, Purdue (Oct. 24)