Texas’ Ehlinger honored as National Quarterback of Week

Texas’ Ehlinger honored as National Quarterback of Week

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 10, 2018) – Texas sophomore Sam Ehlinger has been named the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week for week six, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced.

Ehlinger steered the Longhorns to a 48-45 victory over No. 7 Oklahoma on Saturday, the most points ever scored by Texas in the 113th edition of the Red River Showdown. The native of Austin, Texas, accounted for five touchdowns and 394 yards of total offense. The yardage total was the most ever by a Longhorn player against the Sooners.

Through the air, Ehlinger was 24 of 35 passing for 314 yards and two touchdowns. He also carried the ball 19 times for 72 yards and three scores, and had one reception for eight yards. For his efforts, he also has earned Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week, Maxwell Award Player of the Week and Big 12 Conference Offensive Player of the Week accolades.

Ehlinger is the fourth Big 12 Conference quarterback to be named the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week this season. The Punt & Pass Podcast hosted by Drew Butler and Aaron Murray will discuss Ehlinger’s achievement on Thursday’s edition of the show.

The other Great 8 quarterbacks in the season’s sixth week were: Nick Fitzgerald of Mississippi State, Ohio State’s Dwayne Haskins, Jordan Love of Utah State, Iowa State’s Brock Purdy, Brent Stockstill of Middle Tennessee, Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa and Clayton Thorson of Northwestern.

Eighty years ago, O’Brien, a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year (1938). He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 12th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Fans may vote daily for their favorite quarterback at VoteOBrien.org.

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.


2018 Week-by-Week Winners:

Week 1 – Will Grier, West Virginia (Sept. 6)

Week 2 – Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Sept. 13)

Week 3 – Alan Bowman, Texas Tech (Sept. 20)

Week 4 – Blake LaRussa, Old Dominion (Sept. 26)

Week 5 – Ian Book, Notre Dame (Oct. 3)

Week 6 – Sam Ehlinger, Texas (Oct. 10)

Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.