TCU Freshman Duggan Named National Quarterback Of The Week

TCU Freshman Duggan Named National Quarterback Of The Week

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 29, 2019) – TCU true freshman Max Duggan has been voted the Davey O’Brien Foundation’s National Quarterback of the Week for week nine of the college football season, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced.

Duggan, a product of Council Bluffs, Iowa, threw for 273 yards and two touchdowns and also ran for 72 yards and a score as the Horned Frogs defeated No. 15 Texas, 37-27, on Saturday. Duggan fired a 44-yard touchdown strike that gave TCU the lead for good in the third quarter, and later iced the game with an 11-yard touchdown run with 1:59 remaining in the game.

On the day, the 6-2, 190-pound signal caller was 19-for-27 passing and averaged 5.5 yards per carry over his 13 rushes. In the second half, Duggan completed 9 of 12 pass attempts for 181 yards and a score.

Duggan is the second National Quarterback of the Week winner from the Big 12 Conference this season, joining Texas Tech’s Jett Duffey. This week Duggan was also named the Big 12 Newcomer of the Week.

The other Great 8 quarterbacks in the season’s ninth week were: Dan Ellington of Georgia State, Texas A&M’s Kellen Mond, Peyton Ramsey of Indiana, Charlotte’s Chris Reynolds, Kedon Slovis of USC, Kansas’ Carter Stanley and Skylar Thompson of Kansas State.

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 13th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Fans may vote daily for their favorite quarterback at

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit



2019 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Winners

Sept. 11 – Joe Burrow, LSU

Sept. 18 – Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Sept. 25 – Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA

Oct. 1 – Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Oct. 8 – Jett Duffey, Texas Tech

Oct. 15 – Joe Burrow, LSU

Oct. 22 – Shane Buechele, SMU

Oct. 29 – Max Duggan, TCU

Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.