Burrow, Morgan Share Quarterback Of The Week Honors

Burrow, Morgan Share Quarterback Of The Week Honors

FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 12, 2019) – For the first time ever, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has National Co-Quarterbacks of the Week, as LSU’s Joe Burrow and Minnesota’s Tanner Morgan share the weekly honor following historic wins in week 11.

On Saturday, Burrow helped steer the Tigers to the team’s fourth win over a top 10 team in 2019, a 46-41 victory at No. 3 Alabama. He completed 31 of 39 passes for 393 yards and three touchdowns and also added 64 rushing yards. His 457 yards of total offense are the third most in a single game in school history.

During the contest, Burrow became the fourth player in LSU history to pass for at least 3,000 yards and he also extended his school record for season passing touchdowns (33). LSU’s 46 points were the school’s most in its 84-game series history with the Crimson Tide.

Morgan directed Minnesota to a 31-26 victory over No. 4 Penn State, moving the Golden Gophers to 9-0 for the first time since 1904. On the afternoon, he was 18-for-20 passing for 339 yards and three touchdowns against a team ranked in the nation’s top five in scoring defense.

In the process, Morgan became just the second FBS quarterback since 2000 to complete at least 90 percent of his passes in a game multiple times in a single season (minimum of 20 attempts), joining 2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award recipient Jameis Winston of Florida State.

Burrow’s third National Quarterback of the Week honor this year (Sept. 11, Oct. 15) is a season record, while Morgan becomes the first Gopher ever to receive the accolade.

The other Great 8 quarterbacks in the season’s 11th week were: SMU’s Shane Buechele, Caleb Evans of ULM, Oklahoma’s Jalen Hurts, Trevor Lawrence of Clemson, Illinois’ Brandon Peters and Kedon Slovis of USC.

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The 16 semifinalists for the 2019 award will be announced on Wednesday. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 13th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Fans may vote daily for their favorite quarterback at www.VoteOBrien.org.

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.




Sept. 11 – Joe Burrow, LSU

Sept. 18 – Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Sept. 25 – Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA

Oct. 1 – Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Oct. 8 – Jett Duffey, Texas Tech

Oct. 15 – Joe Burrow, LSU

Oct. 22 – Shane Buechele, SMU

Oct. 29 – Max Duggan, TCU

Nov. 5 – Bryce Perkins, Virginia

Nov. 12 – Joe Burrow, LSU & Tanner Morgan, Minnesota

Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.