Davey O’Brien Foundation Announces Week 11’s Great 8 List

Davey O’Brien Foundation Announces Week 11’s Great 8 List

FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 11, 2019) – The Davey O’Brien Foundation’s “Great 8” quarterbacks have officially been announced for the 11th week of the college football season. The Foundation has now honored 52 different quarterbacks this season.

The eight honorees, as determined by voting from the award’s selection subcommittee, are: Shane Buechele of SMU, LSU’s Joe Burrow, Caleb Evans of ULM, Oklahoma’s Jalen Hurts, Trevor Lawrence of Clemson, Minnesota’s Tanner Morgan, Brandon Peters of Illinois and USC’s Kedon Slovis. The winner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Award will be announced Tuesday.

In 1938, O’Brien, who wore No. 8 as a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 13th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner by voting daily at VoteOBrien.org.

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit DaveyOBrien.org.


Week 11 “Great 8” Performances:

Shane Buechele, SMU, Jr., 6-1, 207, Arlington, Texas

  • Topped the 400-yard mark for the third time this season, going 33-for-46 for 414 yards and five touchdowns in a 59-51 win over East Carolina.

Joe Burrow, LSU, Sr., 6-4, 216, Athens, Ohio

  • Kept the Tigers unbeaten by totaling 457 yards (393 passing, 64 rushing) and throwing three touchdowns (31-for-39 passing) in a 46-41 win at No. 3 Alabama.

Caleb Evans, ULM, Sr., 6-2, 210, Mansfield, Texas

  • Accumulated 401 total yards (291 passing, 110 rushing) and had four touchdowns (three passing, one rushing) in a 45-31 win over Georgia State.

Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma, Sr., 6-2, 218, Houston, Texas

  • Accumulated five first-half touchdowns with three passing and two rushing scores, and finished with 341 yards of offense as Oklahoma defeated Iowa State, 42-41.

Trevor Lawrence, Clemson, So., 6-6, 220, Cartersville, Ga.

  • Was 20-for-27 for 276 yards and three touchdowns and added 59 rushing yards and a TD on eight carries in a 55-10 win at NC State.

Tanner Morgan, Minnesota, So., 6-2, 215, Union, Ky.

  • Threw more touchdown passes (3) than incompletions (2), as he was 18-for-20 for 339 yards as Minnesota upset No. 4 Penn State, 31-26, to remain undefeated.

Brandon Peters, Illinois, Jr., 6-5, 220, Avon, Ind.

  • Led Illinois to a school-record 25-point comeback win by passing for 369 yards and three touchdowns in a 37-34 triumph over Michigan State.

Kedon Slovis, USC, Fr., 6-2, 200, Scottsdale, Ariz.

  • Connected on 29 of 39 pass attempts for 432 yards with four touchdown strikes in a 31-26 victory at Arizona State.
Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.