Hurts Named Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Of The Week

Hurts Named Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Of The Week

FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 19, 2019) – After orchestrating the largest comeback victory in school history, Oklahoma’s Jalen Hurts has been named the Davey O’Brien Foundation’s final National Quarterback of the Week for the 2019 college football season.

On Saturday night, Hurts led the Sooners back from a 28-3 deficit to defeat previously unbeaten and 13th-ranked Baylor on the road, 34-31. On the evening, Hurts passed for 297 yards (30-for-42) and four touchdowns and also rushed for 114 yards. Of his 411 total yards, 305 came in the second half.

Hurts also earned the Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week and Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week honors for his play in week 12.

On the year, Hurts leads the nation in passing efficiency (209.1) and points responsible for (260). In addition, he is second in total offense per game (402.2), third in completion percentage (73.0), seventh in passing yards (3,039) and tied for seventh in passing touchdowns (28). He averages 303.9 passing yards and 98.3 rushing yards per contest, and has accounted for 43 total touchdowns.

The other Great 8 quarterbacks in the season’s 12th week were: LSU’s Joe Burrow, Justin Fields of Ohio State, Washington State’s Anthony Gordon, Justin Herbert of Oregon, Utah’s Tyler Huntley, Trevor Lawrence of Clemson and Memphis’ Brady White. Only the 16 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien Award were eligible for consideration.

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The 16 semifinalists for the 2019 award will be announced on Wednesday. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 13th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner. Fans may vote daily for their favorite quarterback at

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit


2019 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Winners

Sept. 11 – Joe Burrow, LSU

Sept. 18 – Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Sept. 25 – Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA

Oct. 1 – Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Oct. 8 – Jett Duffey, Texas Tech

Oct. 15 – Joe Burrow, LSU

Oct. 22 – Shane Buechele, SMU

Oct. 29 – Max Duggan, TCU

Nov. 5 – Bryce Perkins, Virginia

Nov. 12 – Joe Burrow, LSU & Tanner Morgan, Minnesota

Nov. 19 – Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma

Unable to communicate with Instagram. This may be a temporary problem. Please try again soon.