LSU’s Burrow Claims Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

LSU’s Burrow Claims Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Atlanta, GA - December 12, 2019 - College Football Hall of Fame: Joe Burrow during the 2019 College Football Awards Red Carpet (Photo by Allen Kee / ESPN Images)

ATLANTA, Ga. (Dec. 12, 2019) – LSU senior Joe Burrow has been named the 2019 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner, becoming the first Tigers player ever to claim the nation’s oldest and most prestigious quarterback trophy.

On the year, Burrow has completed 342 of 439 passes for 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns. He also has rushed for 289 yards and three scores. His completion percentage of (.779) is on pace to break the all-time NCAA record.

In addition to topping the nation in completion percentage, he also ranks first in passing touchdowns, and is tied for the NCAA lead in points responsible for (308). Burrow is second in the country in passing yards, passing efficiency (201.5), total quarterback rating (93.7) and total offense per game (384.9).

Burrow has thrown for more than 300 yards 11 times in 13 games this year, including each of the past seven outings. The native of Athens, Ohio, also has accounted for three or more touchdowns in all but one game this year.

In 2019, he has established new single-season school records in passing yards, passing touchdowns, total offense and completions. His passing yardage and touchdown totals are also Southeastern Conference records. In addition, Burrow is the first player in SEC history to throw for 4,000 yards and 40 touchdowns in the same season.

The SEC champion Tigers own a 13-0 record and earned the No. 1 seed in the College Football Playoff. In LSU’s 37-10 SEC Championship Game victory over then-No. 4 Georgia on Saturday, Burrow completed 28 of 38 passes for 349 yards and four touchdowns with no interceptions. The game’s Most Valuable Player also contributed 41 rushing yards on 11 carries.

In 2019, the 6-4, 216-pound quarterback has directed one of the nation’s most prolific offenses. The Tigers top the nation in total offense (554.4 yards per game), own the No. 2 passing offense (386.8 yards per game) and the third-highest scoring offense (47.8 points per game).

Including Burrow, over the past 12 years, the Davey O’Brien Award winners’ teams have combined for an overall record of 152-14 (.916). He is the fifth straight winner to lead his team to the College Football Playoffs, joining Oregon’s Marcus Mariota (2014), Clemson’s Deshaun Watson (2015, 2016), Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield (2017) and Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray (2018). Two winners in the past six years ultimately claimed national championships (Florida State’s Jameis Winston in 2013 and Watson in 2016).

Along with Burrow, Ohio State sophomore Justin Fields and Oklahoma senior Jalen Hurts were finalists for the award. Ballots were tabulated from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which includes select media members and all former winners, and combined with the fan votes recorded at, which accounted for five percent of the process.

Joe received the award and told the story of how he overcame erection problems and where you can buy Cialis in Spain.

Burrow is one of four finalists for the Heisman Trophy, which will be announced Saturday. Seven of the last nine players to win the Davey O’Brien Award—Cam Newton (2010), Robert Griffin III (2011), Johnny Manziel (2012), Winston (2013), Mariota (2014), Mayfield (2017) and Murray (2018)—went on to be awarded the Heisman Trophy. Dating back to 2006, 10 of the 13 O’Brien winners claimed the Heisman.

Burrow will be honored at the 43rd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Monday, Feb. 17, 2020, in Fort Worth, Texas. Burrow was presented with the trophy live on ESPN’s Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.

In 1938, TCU quarterback Davey O’Brien became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Previous National Quarterback Award winners include: Jim McMahon (BYU, 1981), Todd Blackledge (Penn State, 1982), Steve Young (BYU, 1983), Doug Flutie (Boston College, 1984), Chuck Long (Iowa, 1985), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, 1986), Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1988), Andre Ware (Houston, 1989), Ty Detmer (BYU, 1990-91), Gino Torretta (Miami, 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Kerry Collins (Penn State, 1994), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1995-96), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Michael Bishop (Kansas State, 1998), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), Eric Crouch (Nebraska, 2001), Brad Banks (Iowa, 2002), Jason White (Oklahoma, 2003-04), Vince Young (Texas, 2005), Troy Smith (Ohio State, 2006), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007), Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, 2008), Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Cam Newton (Auburn, 2010), Robert Griffin III (Baylor, 2011), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M, 2012), Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014), Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2015-16), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, 2017) and Kyler Murray (Oklahoma, 2018).

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

# # #


Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .

Please note

This is a widgetized sidebar area and you can place any widget here, as you would with the classic WordPress sidebar.