National Football Foundation to be recognized with Charles Ringler Founder’s Award

National Football Foundation to be recognized with Charles Ringler Founder’s Award

FORT WORTH, Texas (Dec. 17, 2019) – The Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced that coinciding with the 150th anniversary season of college football, the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame will receive the 2019 Charles Ringler Founder’s Award. The Founder’s Award honors an individual, group or corporation devoted to the Davey O’Brien Foundation.

Established in 1947 and now based in Irving, Texas, the NFF is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people.

The NFF’s mission and principles align with those of the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which annually presents the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, High School Scholarship, Legends Award and Founder’s Award.

The National Football Foundation has been a supporter of the Davey O’Brien Foundation and Awards Dinner since its founding. The NFF also proudly showcases the history of the game of football and immortalizes the game’s greatest legends at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, including Davey O’Brien, a 1955 inductee from TCU. NFF President & Chief Executive Officer Steve Hatchell also serves on the Davey O’Brien Award’s National Selection Committee.

“Throughout its history, the NFF has displayed tremendous passion for the game, has supported youth on and off the field, and has honored football greats and the history of college football,” Davey O’Brien Foundation President Paul Greenwell said. “We have been proud to partner with the NFF over the years and are thrilled to honor this worthy organization during such a special year.”

In 2004, the Charles Ringler Founder’s Award was created to honor the man responsible for establishing the Davey O’Brien Foundation and the original Davey O’Brien Memorial Trophy. The recipient must exhibit the same passion, pride and perseverance as Ringler himself. Past recipients include some of college football and the award’s most important figures, including Lamar Hunt, Dr. Bobby Brown, Keith Jackson, Verne Lundquist, Don Looney and the O’Brien family.

“We are extremely thrilled to be named the 2019 recipient of the Charles Ringler Founder’s Award,” said Hatchell. “The Davey O’Brien Foundation has been a powerful advocate for highlighting the good in the game, and they have been an exceptional partner over the years. We are truly honored that the Foundation has chosen to recognize the NFF and our efforts to promote the game.”

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field to leadership in life.

The NFF will be honored alongside the National Quarterback Award, High School Scholarship and Legends Award winners at the 43rd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Monday, Feb. 17, 2020, at The Fort Worth Club.

A limited number of individual tickets for the dinner are available in the Sunset Room for $200 each, a portion of which is tax deductible. Please contact the Davey O’Brien Foundation at (817) 338-3488 for more information.



Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.