Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship narrows list to five finalists

Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship narrows list to five finalists

FORT WORTH, Texas (Jan. 13, 2020) – The Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced the five finalists for the 34th Annual Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship Award. The scholarship, underwritten by Higginbotham and Simmons Bank, is presented each January to an exceptional senior student-athlete in North Texas.

This year’s finalists, in alphabetical order, are: Kaedric Cobbs (John H. Guyer H.S.), Peyton Dooley (Highland Park H.S.), Harper Dunne (Trinity Valley School), Osadolor Osawemwenze (Lake Highlands H.S.) and Adam Tobin (J.J. Pearce H.S.).

“Each and every year the selection committee is genuinely amazed by the quality of applicants for the award,” Chairman of the High School Scholarship Selection Committee David O’Brien Jr. said. “We are so pleased to have this group of outstanding young student-athletes associated with the Davey O’Brien Foundation. I have said it many times, but the legacy of this award is what my father would be most proud of.”

The recipient of the $30,000 scholarship will be announced Tuesday, Jan. 21, during the 13th Annual Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship Luncheon held at The Fort Worth Club. The Foundation will award $2,500 scholarships to each of the four remaining finalists.

Recipients of the High School Scholarship Award are chosen on the basis of scholastic achievements, community service, character, leadership and varsity sports participation. As part of the selection process, the committee will interview all five finalists this week.

The Foundation has distributed well over $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field to leadership in life.

The winner will be honored Monday, Feb. 17, at the 43rd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner alongside Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner Joe Burrow of LSU, Legends Award recipient Steve Bartkowski, and the National Football Foundation, the winner of the Charles Ringler Founder’s Award.


About the Finalists

Kaedric Cobbs (John H. Guyer H.S.)

Kaedric Cobbs ranks first in his class of 631 students with a perfect 5.0 grade-point average. A three-sport athlete in football, basketball and track, he has earned All-Area Offensive MVP honors as a running back. As a senior, Cobbs rushed for 2,641 yards and 42 touchdowns and was the USA Today National Player of the Week in week two. A member of the National Honor Society, he also co-created and is president of the Men After God’s Own Heart organization.


Peyton Dooley (Highland Park H.S.)

Peyton Dooley is a National AP Scholar and PSAT Commended Scholar, and ranks fourth among his class of 533 with a 4.56 GPA on a weighted 4.0 scale. A four-year varsity letterwinner in tennis, he helped his team to the UIL Class 5A team state tournament title all four seasons. Individually, he was a state semifinalist in 2019 and a state quarterfinalist in 2018. He was named the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Greater Dallas Chapter Youth Ambassador Hero of the Year.


Harper Dunne (Trinity Valley School)

Harper Dunne owns a 4.11 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale, was an AP Scholar with Honor award winner and a member of the Headmaster’s List every semester. She is a three-sport athlete, excelling in field hockey, soccer and track. In field hockey, she was twice named team MVP and was a three-time All-Southern Preparatory Conference performer. Dunne is the co-founder and president of the How To Adult Club and also is a member of the National Charity League.


Osadolor Osawemwenze (Lake Highlands H.S.)

Osadolor Osawemwenze ranks fourth in his class of 606 with a 102.77 GPA on a 100-point scale, and is a 2019 AP Scholar with Distinction. A two-sport varsity athlete, playing football and track, he also is a power lifter. Osawemwenze earned academic all-district honors in football and took third in the 300-meter hurdles in District 8-6A as a junior. He is a member of the Mayor’s Rising Star Council, Mu Alpha Theta and the National Honor Society.


Adam Tobin (J.J. Pearce H.S.)

Adam Tobin has earned National Merit Commended Scholar and AP Scholar with Distinction honors and ranks fourth among his senior class of 584 students with a 103.76 GPA on a 100-point scale. He has been a member of the varsity tennis team since his freshman year, earning all-district and academic all-district accolades each season and winning the District 8-6A doubles title. Tobin also serves as vice president of the National Honor Society and is a class representative on student government.



About the Davey O’Brien Foundation

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was founded in 1977 to honor and remember the strong character and leadership of football great, Davey O’Brien. Widely known for its Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Foundation recognizes champions on and off the field through awards programs encouraging academic and career success. The Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field to leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

About Higginbotham

Higginbotham is a single source for insurance and financial services that brokers business insurance, employee benefits, retirement plans, executive benefits, life insurance and home/auto insurance from more than 250 regional and national carriers. It supplements coverage with in-house risk management and benefit plan administration services. The firm was founded in 1948 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, with more than 35 additional offices statewide and in Oklahoma and Georgia serving domestic and international customers. Higginbotham ranks by revenue as the nation’s 24th largest independent insurance brokerage firm, making it the largest Texas-based broker (Business Insurance, July 2019). Visit  www.Higginbotham.net for more information.

About Simmons Bank

Simmons Bank is an Arkansas state-chartered bank that began as a community bank in 1903. Through the decades, Simmons has developed a full suite of financial products and services designed to meet the needs of individual consumers and business customers alike. Simmons has grown steadily to approximately $17.8 billion in assets (as of Sept. 30, 2019) and today operates approximately 200 branch locations throughout Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee and Texas. Simmons is the subsidiary bank for Simmons First National Corporation (NASDAQ: SFNC), a publicly traded bank holding company headquartered in Pine Bluff, Arkansas. For more information, visit www.simmonsbank.com.

Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.