Costello Snags Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Accolade

Costello Snags Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Accolade

FORT WORTH, Texas (Sept. 30, 2020) — The Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced that Mississippi State’s K.J. Costello is the week four Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week following his record-setting debut for the Bulldogs.

On Saturday, the senior transfer set Southeastern Conference and school records for single-game passing yards (623) while leading Mississippi State to a 44-34 win at LSU, the defending national champions and nation’s sixth-ranked team. The 623 passing yards rank as the 11th most ever by an NCAA FBS player.

In addition, Costello matched a program record and a personal best with five touchdown strikes. The product of Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif., completed a career-high 36 of 60 passes, setting MSU records for both completions and attempts.

For his efforts, Costello also has been named the Walter Camp FBS National Offensive Player of the Week, the Maxwell Award Player of the Week and the SEC Offensive Player of the Week. Costello is the second Bulldog ever to earn the Davey O’Brien Player of the Week Award, joining Dak Prescott, who claimed the accolade three times during his collegiate career.

The other quarterbacks on the Davey O’Brien Award’s Great 8 list were: Luke Anthony of Louisiana Tech, Texas’ Sam Ehlinger, Dillon Gabriel of UCF, Miami’s D’Eriq King, Skylar Thompson of Kansas State, Florida’s Kyle Trask and Zach Wilson of BYU. The eight players accounted for 37 total touchdowns and more than 3,000 passing yards last weekend.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. For more information, visit


Photo Credit: Austin Perryman/Mississippi State Athletics

Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.