UCF’s Gabriel Named Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week

UCF’s Gabriel Named Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week

FORT WORTH, Texas (Sept. 23, 2020) — The Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced that UCF sophomore Dillon Gabriel has been voted the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week for his performance during the third week of the college football season.

Gabriel, a member of the 2020 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List, threw for a career-high 417 yards and matched a personal-best with four touchdown passes in a 49-21 victory over Georgia Tech on Saturday. It was his fifth career 300-yard passing game and his first 400-yard effort. His single-game passing yardage ranks as the third most in the NCAA this season and the seventh highest total in school history.

The native of Mililani, Hawaii, completed 27 of 41 passes (65.9 percent) and added 30 rushing yards. This week Gabriel also was named the Walter Camp Football Foundation National Offensive Player of the Week and the American Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Week.

The other quarterbacks on the Week 3 Great 8 list were: Notre Dame’s Ian Book, Shane Buechele of SMU, Boston College’s Phil Jurkovec, D’Eriq King of Miami, Pittsburgh’s Kenny Pickett, Tyler Vitt of Texas State and Liberty’s Malik Willis.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.


Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.