Alabama’s Jones Claims National Quarterback of the Week Accolade

Alabama’s Jones Claims National Quarterback of the Week Accolade

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 21, 2020) — The Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced that Alabama junior Mac Jones is the week seven Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week for his performance in the Crimson Tide’s 41-24 victory over third-ranked Georgia.

Jones completed 24 of 32 passes (75 percent) for 417 yards and four touchdowns against a Bulldogs’ defense that was ranked first nationally. In the process, the junior became the first quarterback in Alabama history to throw for 400-plus yards in three consecutive games. On the evening, he averaged 17.4 yards per completion and 13.0 yards per attempt.

Jones’ passing efficiency rating (219.5) and total quarterback rating (97.7) both ranked second nationally among quarterbacks in week seven. Georgia entered the game allowing just 12.3 points and 198.3 passing yards per game and had yielded just four total touchdowns over its first three contests.

The product of Jacksonville, Fla., also was named the SEC Offensive Player of the Week. A member of the Davey O’Brien Award’s Preseason Watch List, Jones has been named to the Foundation’s Great 8 three times this season, which is tied for the most in the nation.

The other quarterbacks on this week’s Davey O’Brien Award’s Great 8 list were sophomore Jason Bean of North Texas, UCF sophomore Dillon Gabriel, junior Hendon Hooker of Virginia Tech, Clemson junior Trevor Lawrence, sophomore Jordan Travis of Florida State, Memphis senior Brady White and junior Zach Wilson of BYU.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. For more information, visit

2020 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Honorees

Week 1: Brady White, Memphis

Week 2: Trevor Lawrence, Clemson

Week 3: Dillon Gabriel, UCF

Week 4: K.J. Costello, Mississippi State

Week 5: Shane Buechele, SMU

Week 6: Connor Bazelak, Missouri

Week 7: Mac Jones, Alabama


Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.