Corral Snags Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Honor

Corral Snags Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Honor

FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 4, 2020) — The Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced that Ole Miss sophomore Matt Corral is the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week for week nine.

Corral threw twice as many touchdown passes (6) as incompletions (3) in the Rebels’ 54-21 win over Vanderbilt on Saturday. In all, he completed 31 of 34 pass attempts for a career-high 412 yards. His six touchdown passes tied the school’s single-game record held by Eli Manning.

Corral also broke Manning’s record for consecutive completions in a game, as he was successful on his first 19 pass attempts. In addition, his completion percentage (91.2) equaled an SEC record (minimum of 30 attempts), and Corral became the first quarterback in conference history to throw for six touchdowns while completing at least 90 percent of his passes.

The product of Ventura, Calif., was also named the Walter Camp Offensive Player of the Week and the SEC Offensive Player of the Week. He is the third SEC player to be named Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week in the season’s nine weeks.

The other quarterbacks on this week’s Davey O’Brien Award’s Great 8 list were Ohio State’s Justin Fields, Rocky Lombardi of Michigan State, Coastal Carolina’s Grayson McCall, Desmond Ridder of Cincinnati, San Jose State’s Nick Starkel, Taulia Tagovailoa of Maryland and Florida’s Kyle Trask.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. For more information, visit


2020 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Honorees

Week 1: Brady White, Memphis

Week 2: Trevor Lawrence, Clemson

Week 3: Dillon Gabriel, UCF

Week 4: K.J. Costello, Mississippi State

Week 5: Shane Buechele, SMU

Week 6: Connor Bazelak, Missouri

Week 7: Mac Jones, Alabama

Week 8: Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati

Week 9: Matt Corral, Ole Miss


Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.