Florida’s Trask Tabbed Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week

Florida’s Trask Tabbed Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week

FORT WORTH, Texas (Nov. 11, 2020) — The Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced that Florida senior Kyle Trask is the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week following his week 10 performance against fifth-ranked Georgia.

On Saturday, Trask connected on 30 of 43 passes for a career-high 474 yards and four touchdowns in the Gators’ 44-28 victory. The Georgia defense entered the game ranked 12th nationally in scoring defense and No. 13 in total defense.

Trask’s 474 passing yards are the second most in a game in school history, just eight behind the mark set by 2007 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner Tim Tebow (482). In addition, Trask became the first quarterback in SEC history to throw four touchdown passes in five consecutive games.

The product of Manvel, Texas, was also named the SEC Offensive Player of the Week. He is the fifth different SEC player in the past seven weeks to be named Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week. Trask has appeared on the Davey O’Brien Great 8 list three times this season.

The other quarterbacks on this week’s Great 8 list were Ian Book of Notre Dame, Ohio State’s Justin Fields, D’Eriq King of Miami, Texas A&M’s Kellen Mond, Michael Penix Jr., of Indiana, USC’s Kedon Slovis and Carson Strong of Nevada.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

2020 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Honorees

Week 1: Brady White, Memphis

Week 2: Trevor Lawrence, Clemson

Week 3: Dillon Gabriel, UCF

Week 4: K.J. Costello, Mississippi State

Week 5: Shane Buechele, SMU

Week 6: Connor Bazelak, Missouri

Week 7: Mac Jones, Alabama

Week 8: Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati

Week 9: Matt Corral, Ole Miss

Week 10: Kyle Trask, Florida


Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.