Iowa State’s Purdy Tabbed National Quarterback of the Week

Iowa State’s Purdy Tabbed National Quarterback of the Week

FORT WORTH, Texas (Dec. 9, 2020) — Iowa State junior Brock Purdy has been selected as the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week for week 14, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced.

On Saturday, Purdy threw as many touchdowns as incompletions in the Cyclones’ 42-6 victory over West Virginia. He finished the day 20-for-23 passing for 247 yards and three scores. In addition, Purdy added 38 rushing yards on seven carries (5.4 average), and collected a fourth touchdown on the ground.

Overall, the product of Gilbert, Ariz., posted a 99.6 total quarterback rating, which tied for the highest in the nation, and had a 220.2 passing efficiency rating. Purdy’s 87 percent completion rate was the second best in a single game in school history, while his 22nd victory as a starter established an Iowa State record.

This week, Purdy also earned Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week honors and was one of 16 players named as a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

Purdy is the second Big 12 Conference quarterback to win the Davey O’Brien weekly award in the past three weeks, joining Oklahoma’s Spencer Rattler. The two quarterbacks will face each other in the Big 12 Championship Game on Saturday, Dec. 19, when Iowa State makes its first-ever league title game appearance.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. For more information, visit

2020 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Honorees

Week 1: Brady White, Memphis

Week 2: Trevor Lawrence, Clemson

Week 3: Dillon Gabriel, UCF

Week 4: K.J. Costello, Mississippi State

Week 5: Shane Buechele, SMU

Week 6: Connor Bazelak, Missouri

Week 7: Mac Jones, Alabama

Week 8: Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati

Week 9: Matt Corral, Ole Miss

Week 10: Kyle Trask, Florida

Week 11: Sam Howell, North Carolina

Week 12: Spencer Rattler, Oklahoma

Week 13: Mac Jones, Alabama

Week 14: Brock Purdy, Iowa State


Instagram has returned empty data. Please check your username/hashtag.