Alabama’s Jones Wins 2020 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Alabama’s Jones Wins 2020 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

FORT WORTH, Texas (Jan. 7, 2020) – Alabama junior Mac Jones has been named the 2020 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner. He is the first Crimson Tide player ever to claim the nation’s oldest and most prestigious quarterback trophy.

On the year, Jones has completed 275 of 357 passes for 4,036 yards and 36 touchdowns against just four interceptions. His completion percentage (.770), passing efficiency rating (203.0) and total quarterback rating (95.8) are the highest in NCAA history.

In addition to topping the nation in completion percentage, passing efficiency and total quarterback rating, his passing yardage and passing touchdown totals rank second in the NCAA. He also is third nationally in points responsible for (222) and sixth in total offense per game (336.6).

In 12 games, Jones has thrown for more than 300 yards seven times, eclipsing the 400-yard plateau on four occasions. The native of Jacksonville, Fla., also threw four or more touchdown passes seven times.

The SEC champion Crimson Tide own a 12-0 record and have reached the College Football Playoff Championship Game. In his past two contests, the SEC Championship Game against Florida and national semifinal versus Notre Dame, Jones combined to complete 58 of 73 pass attempts (79.4 percent) for 715 yards and nine touchdowns.

In 2020, the 6-3, 214-pound quarterback has directed one of the nation’s most prolific offenses. The Crimson Tide rank second in the FBS in scoring offense (48.2 points per game), fifth in passing offense (349.3) and sixth in total offense (535.0).

Including Jones, over the past 13 years, the Davey O’Brien Award winners’ teams have combined for an overall record of 164-14 (.921). He is the sixth straight winner to lead his team to the College Football Playoffs, joining Oregon’s Marcus Mariota (2014), Clemson’s Deshaun Watson (2015, 2016), Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield (2017), Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray (2018) and LSU’s Joe Burrow (2019). Three winners in the past seven years ultimately claimed national championships (Florida State’s Jameis Winston in 2013, Watson in 2016 and Burrow in 2019).

Clemson junior Trevor Lawrence and Florida senior Kyle Trask were award finalists alongside Jones. Ballots were tabulated from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which includes select media members and all former winners, following the voting period’s conclusion on Jan. 2 at 10 a.m. (CT).

Bonus ballots were added based on social media fan votes recorded on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Jones won first place in the Facebook vote, while Trask claimed the most votes on Instagram and Twitter.

Jones was named the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner live on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. Due to ongoing issues with the COVID-19 pandemic that has forced the cancellation of the 44th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner, Jones will be honored virtually on Monday, Feb. 15.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.

In 1938, TCU quarterback Davey O’Brien became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Previous National Quarterback Award winners include: Jim McMahon (BYU, 1981), Todd Blackledge (Penn State, 1982), Steve Young (BYU, 1983), Doug Flutie (Boston College, 1984), Chuck Long (Iowa, 1985), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, 1986), Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1988), Andre Ware (Houston, 1989), Ty Detmer (BYU, 1990-91), Gino Torretta (Miami, 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Kerry Collins (Penn State, 1994), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1995-96), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Michael Bishop (Kansas State, 1998), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), Eric Crouch (Nebraska, 2001), Brad Banks (Iowa, 2002), Jason White (Oklahoma, 2003-04), Vince Young (Texas, 2005), Troy Smith (Ohio State, 2006), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007), Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, 2008), Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Cam Newton (Auburn, 2010), Robert Griffin III (Baylor, 2011), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M, 2012), Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014), Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2015-16), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, 2017), Kyler Murray (Oklahoma, 2018) and Joe Burrow (LSU, 2019).

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.


Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .

Please note

This is a widgetized sidebar area and you can place any widget here, as you would with the classic WordPress sidebar.