Herbert Receives 35th Annual Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship Award

Herbert Receives 35th Annual Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship Award

FORT WORTH, Texas (Jan. 19, 2021) – The Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced that Lane Herbert of Greenhill School is the recipient of the 35th Annual Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship Award. The $30,000 scholarship, underwritten by Higginbotham and Simmons Bank, is presented each January to an exceptional senior student-athlete in North Texas.

Recipients of the High School Scholarship Award are chosen on the basis of scholastic achievements, community service, character, leadership and varsity sports participation. As part of the selection process, the award’s selection committee interviewed its five finalists last week.

“We are proud to announce Lane Herbert as the 2020 Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship winner,” Chairman of the High School Scholarship Selection Committee David O’Brien Jr. said. “She has excelled in the classroom, on the field and in the community, and we are thrilled to have her represent the Foundation. We look forward to watching her many future successes.”

A multi-sport student-athlete, Herbert owns 3.84 GPA on a 4.0 scale. She has earned High Honor Roll accolades each of her first three years, and is a four-year starter in both field hockey and lacrosse.

A midfielder in field hockey, the Northwestern University commit earned NFHCA Third-Team All-America honors as well as All-West Region honors in 2019. In lacrosse, she helped her team to the 2018 Division II state championship. She also has participated in both swimming and soccer in high school, earning two letters in each sport.

Herbert has participated in student council all four years in high school, including class secretary as a senior. She also has served as the first female sports editor as well as the executive editor of the school’s newspaper.

Herbert is a member of Young Life and is active in the Girl Scouts of North East Texas, where she earned the Gold Award in 2020. She also co-founded Cluck for a Cause, a family non-profit that donates the money raised from selling farm fresh eggs. She has won an Individual Bronze Presidential Volunteer Service Award and a Rhodes College Community Service Award. In all, she spent more than 300 hours volunteering for various endeavors.

She also is a longtime member of the Texas Pride Field Hockey Club. She was named to the MAX Field Hockey Class of 2021’s West/Midwest Regional top 40 list and also was rated among the nation’s top 100 players.

The other finalists for the Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship will receive $2,500 scholarships. Those student-athletes were Randell Holmes (Prestonwood Christian Academy), Jake Laufenberg (Saint Mark’s School of Texas), Rishi Niranjan (Plano West) and Sally North (Booker T. Washington).

Since its creation, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has distributed over $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field to leadership in life. Herbert will be honored virtually on Monday, Feb. 15.


About the Davey O’Brien Foundation

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was founded in 1977 to honor and remember the strong character and leadership of football great, Davey O’Brien. Widely known for its Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Foundation recognizes champions on and off the field through awards programs encouraging academic and career success. The Foundation has given away more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field to leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

About Higginbotham

Higginbotham is a single source for insurance and financial services that brokers business insurance, employee benefits, retirement plans, executive benefits, life insurance and home/auto insurance from more than 250 regional and national carriers. It supplements coverage with in-house risk management, benefit plan administration and human resources services. The firm was founded in 1948 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, with more than 45 additional offices statewide and in Oklahoma, Georgia, New Mexico and California serving domestic and international customers. Higginbotham ranks by revenue as the nation’s 21st largest independent insurance brokerage firm, making it the largest Texas-based broker (Business Insurance, July 2020). Visit www.higginbotham.net for more information. 

About Simmons Bank

Simmons Bank is an Arkansas state-chartered bank that began in 1903. Through the decades, Simmons has developed a full suite of financial products and services designed to meet the needs of individual consumers and business customers alike. Simmons has grown steadily and today operates more than 200 branch locations throughout Arkansas, Illinois, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee and Texas. Simmons is the subsidiary bank for Simmons First National Corporation (NASDAQ: SFNC), a publicly traded bank holding company headquartered in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, with total consolidated assets of 21.4 billion as of Sept. 30, 2020. For more information, visit https://www.simmonsbank.com.


Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .

Please note

This is a widgetized sidebar area and you can place any widget here, as you would with the classic WordPress sidebar.