Forty Members of Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2021 Revealed

Forty Members of Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2021 Revealed

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 26, 2021) – The Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced the 40 quarterbacks named to the Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2021. Each member of the group is now an official candidate to win the 2021 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

The Class of 2021 consists of at least two players from each of the 10 FBS conferences as well as one football independent. Thirteen players are on the list for the second straight year. Those players are: Matt Corral of Ole Miss, Kent State’s Dustin Crum, Malik Cunningham of Louisville, Western Michigan’s Kaleb Eleby, Frank Harris of UTSA, North Carolina’s Sam Howell, Levi Lewis of Louisiana, Coastal Carolina’s Grayson McCall, Kenny Pickett of Pitt, Iowa State’s Brock Purdy, Desmond Ridder of Cincinnati, Nevada’s Carson Strong and Malik Willis of Liberty.

The next step in the process will be to select the award’s 16 semifinalists from the 40 quarterbacks. The semifinalists will be chosen based on voting from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee as well as the first round of the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote.

For the second straight year, the Fan Vote will take place on the award’s three social media platforms—Instagram, Twitter and Facebook—and the top five vote getters on each will receive bonus committee member ballots which will be added to the votes cast by the National Selection Committee.

To participate in the Fan Vote, fans must like the original Davey O’Brien Award post highlighting the quarterback. Each round of the selection process (semifinalist, finalist and winner) will offer two one-week voting periods for fans. The 16 semifinalists will be named on Tuesday, Nov. 9, while the finalists will be tabbed on Tuesday, Nov. 23. The winner will be announced live on Thursday, Dec. 9 on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

In 1938, O’Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. For more information, visit


Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Timeline

Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2021 Announced (Tuesday, Oct. 26)

Round 1 Fan Vote Open (Week #1 – Tuesday, Oct. 26-Sunday, Oct. 31)

Round 1 Fan Vote Open (Week #2 – Tuesday, Nov. 2-Sunday, Nov. 7)

16 Semifinalists Announced (Tuesday, Nov. 9)

Round 2 Fan Vote Open (Week #1 – Tuesday, Nov. 9-Sunday, Nov. 14)

Round 2 Fan Vote Open (Week #2 – Tuesday, Nov. 16-Sunday, Nov. 21)

Finalists Announced (Tuesday, Nov. 23)

Round 3 Fan Vote Open (Week #1 – Tuesday, Nov. 23-Sunday, Nov. 28)

Round 3 Fan Vote Open (Week #2 – Tuesday, Nov. 30-Sunday, Dec. 5)

Winner Announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards (Thursday, Dec. 9)


Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2021 

Brennan Armstrong, Virginia, Jr. 6-2, 215, Shelby, Ohio

Stetson Bennett, Georgia, Sr., 5-11, 190, Blackshear, Ga.

Gerry Bohanon, Baylor, Jr., 6-3, 221, Earle, Ark.

Anthony Brown, Oregon, Sr., 6-3, 226, Cliffwood, N.J.

Sean Clifford, Penn State, Sr., 6-2, 219, Cincinnati, Ohio

Matt Corral, Ole Miss, Jr., 6-2, 205, Ventura, Calif.

Dustin Crum, Kent State, Sr., 6-3, 207, Grafton, Ohio

Malik Cunningham, Louisville, Jr., 6-1, 200, Montgomery, Ala.

Jayden Daniels, Arizona State, Jr., 6-3, 185, San Bernardino, Calif.

Kaleb Eleby, Western Michigan, So. 6-1, 210, Maryland Heights, Mo.

Jake Haener, Fresno State, Sr., 6-1, 195, Danville, Calif.

Frank Harris, UTSA, Sr., 6-0, 200, Schertz, Texas

Sam Hartman, Wake Forest, So., 6-1, 208, Charlotte, N.C.

Hendon Hooker, Tennessee, Sr., 6-4, 218, Greensboro, N.C.

Sam Howell, North Carolina, Jr., 6-1, 220, Indian Trail, N.C.

KJ Jefferson, Arkansas, So., 6-3, 245, Sardis, Miss.

Devin Leary, NC State, So., 6-1, 212, Sicklerville, N.J.

Will Levis, Kentucky, Jr., 6-3, 232, Madison, Conn.

Levi Lewis, Louisiana, Sr., 5-10, 185, Baton Rouge, La.

Adrian Martinez, Nebraska, Jr., 6-2, 212, Fresno, Calif.

Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina, So., 6-3, 210, Indian Trail, N.C.

Tanner McKee, Stanford, So., 6-6, 225, Corona, Calif.

Tanner Mordecai, SMU, Jr., 6-3, 218, Waco, Texas

Bo Nix, Auburn, Jr., 6-3, 214, Pinson, Ala.

N’Kosi Perry, Florida Atlantic, Sr., 6-4, 198, Ocala, Fla.

Kenny Pickett, Pitt, Sr., 6-3, 220, Oakhurst, N.J.

Brock Purdy, Iowa State, Sr., 6-1, 220, Gilbert, Ariz.

Chris Reynolds, Charlotte, Sr., 5-11, 192, Mocksville, N.C.

Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati, Sr., 6-4, 215, Louisville, Ky.

Cameron Rising, Utah, So., 6-2, 200, Ventura, Calif.

Will Rogers, Mississippi State, So., 6-2, 210, Brandon, Miss.

Carson Strong, Nevada, Sr., 6-4, 215, Vacaville, Calif.

C.J. Stroud, Ohio State, R-Fr., 6-3, 218, Empire, Calif.

Casey Thompson, Texas, Jr., 6-1, 200, Oklahoma City, Okla.

Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA, Sr., 6-1, 205, Las Vegas, Nev.

Payton Thorne, Michigan State, So., 6-0, 210, Naperville, Ill.

Caleb Williams, Oklahoma, Fr., 6-1, 218, Washington, D.C.

Malik Willis, Liberty, Jr., 6-1, 225, Atlanta, Ga.

Bryce Young, Alabama, So., 6-0, 194, Pasadena, Calif.

Bailey Zappe, Western Kentucky, Sr., 6-1, 220, Victoria, Texas


Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .

Please note

This is a widgetized sidebar area and you can place any widget here, as you would with the classic WordPress sidebar.