Alabama’s Young Claims 2021 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Alabama’s Young Claims 2021 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

FORT WORTH, Texas (Dec. 9, 2021) – Alabama sophomore Bryce Young has been named the 2021 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner. He is the second straight Crimson Tide player to claim the nation’s oldest and most prestigious quarterback trophy.

On the year, Young has completed 314 of 462 passes (68.4 percent) for 4,322 yards and 43 touchdowns against just four interceptions. He also has three rushing touchdowns.

Nationally, Young ranks second in both passing touchdowns (43) and total quarterback rating (88.9), third in points responsible for (284), fourth in passing yards (4,322), fifth in passing efficiency (175.5), sixth in total offense (334.8) and eighth in yards per pass attempt (9.4).

In 13 games, Young has thrown for more than 300 yards nine times, including a school-record 559 yards (with five touchdown passes) against top-25 Arkansas. The Pasadena, Calif., also accounted for four or more touchdowns on seven occasions.

The SEC champion Crimson Tide own a 12-1 record and claimed the No. 1 seed in the College Football Playoff. In Saturday’s SEC Championship Game against then-No. 1 Georgia, he threw for an SEC title game-record 421 yards with three touchdowns and added 40 rushing yards and a score to lead Alabama to a 41-24 victory.

In 2021, the 6-foot, 194-pound signal caller has directed one of the nation’s most prolific offenses. The Crimson Tide rank fourth in the NCAA in scoring offense (42.5) and sixth in total offense (495.5).

Young is the third consecutive player from the Southeastern Conference to win the award, following former teammate Mac Jones (2020) and LSU’s Joe Burrow (2019). He is the first sophomore to take home the award since 2015.

Including Young, over the past 14 years, the Davey O’Brien Award winners’ teams have combined for an overall record of 176-15 (.921). He is the seventh straight winner to lead his team to the College Football Playoffs and is looking to become the fourth in that group to ultimately claim a national championship.

Pitt senior Kenny Pickett and Ohio State freshman C.J. Stroud were award finalists alongside Young. Following the voting period’s conclusion on Saturday night, ballots were tabulated from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which includes select media members, college football experts and former winners. Bonus ballots from the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote were added based on social media fan votes recorded on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Young was named the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner live on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. He will be honored in person at the 45th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner in Fort Worth, Texas, on Monday, Feb. 21.


About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.

In 1938, TCU quarterback Davey O’Brien became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Previous National Quarterback Award winners include: Jim McMahon (BYU, 1981), Todd Blackledge (Penn State, 1982), Steve Young (BYU, 1983), Doug Flutie (Boston College, 1984), Chuck Long (Iowa, 1985), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, 1986), Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1988), Andre Ware (Houston, 1989), Ty Detmer (BYU, 1990-91), Gino Torretta (Miami, 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Kerry Collins (Penn State, 1994), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1995-96), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Michael Bishop (Kansas State, 1998), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), Eric Crouch (Nebraska, 2001), Brad Banks (Iowa, 2002), Jason White (Oklahoma, 2003-04), Vince Young (Texas, 2005), Troy Smith (Ohio State, 2006), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007), Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, 2008), Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Cam Newton (Auburn, 2010), Robert Griffin III (Baylor, 2011), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M, 2012), Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014), Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2015-16), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, 2017), Kyler Murray (Oklahoma, 2018), Joe Burrow (LSU, 2019) and Mac Jones (Alabama, 2020).

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.


Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .

Please note

This is a widgetized sidebar area and you can place any widget here, as you would with the classic WordPress sidebar.