Phil Simms to Receive Davey O’Brien Legends Award

Phil Simms to Receive Davey O’Brien Legends Award

FORT WORTH, Texas (Jan. 26, 2022) – The Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced that two-time Super Bowl champion and longtime NFL broadcaster Phil Simms is the recipient of this year’s Davey O’Brien Legends Award.

The Legends Award recognizes a college or professional quarterback who has made a significant contribution to the game of football, distinguished himself as an extraordinary leader and demonstrated exemplary conduct both on and off the football field.

A Super Bowl XXI and XXV champion with the New York Giants, Simms was named the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XXI. In that game, he completed 22 of 25 passes for 268 yards and three touchdowns in a 39-20 victory over the Denver Broncos.

Over his 15-year career, all with the Giants, Simms appeared in 164 games. He finished with 2,576 completions on 4,647 attempts for 33,462 yards and 199 touchdowns. Simms’ No. 11 is retired by the Giants, and he is a member of the organization’s Ring of Honor.

Simms was named All-Pro in 1986 by the Newspaper Enterprise Association. In addition, he was a Pro Bowl selection in 1985 and 1993. Simms was tabbed to the All-Rookie Team in 1979 and was the runner-up in Rookie of the Year voting.

The native of Springfield, Ky., was a first-round pick (seventh overall) by the Giants in the 1979 NFL Draft after playing collegiately at Morehead State.

Since 1998, Simms has been a member of the broadcast team for CBS Sports. He began as a game analyst on the network’s No. 1 broadcast team before becoming a studio analyst on THE NFL TODAY. Prior to that, Simms spent three seasons with NBC Sports. In all, he has called eight Super Bowls.

Previous winners of the Davey O’Brien Legends Award include Steve Bartkowski, Terry Bradshaw, Len Dawson, Dan Fouts, Bob Griese, Paul Hornung, Ron Jaworski, Jim Kelly, Eddie LeBaron, Archie Manning, Jim McMahon, Joe Montana, Warren Moon, Craig Morton, Jim Plunkett, Steve Spurrier, Bart Starr, Roger Staubach, Joe Theismann and Doug Williams.

Simms will be honored at the 45th Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Monday, Feb. 21, at The Fort Worth Club alongside 2021 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner Bryce Young of Alabama and High School Scholarship recipient Kenaj Washington of Kennedale High School.

Individual tickets for the Awards Dinner are available. Please contact the Davey O’Brien Foundation at (817) 338-3488 or email for more information.




Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .

Please note

This is a widgetized sidebar area and you can place any widget here, as you would with the classic WordPress sidebar.