Tim Tebow (2007)

Tim Tebow was the most decorated college football player of 2007, most notably winning the Davey O’Brien Award, Heisman Memorial Trophy and Maxwell Award. Named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America football team, Tebow was recognized as a first-team All-American, SEC Offensive Player of the Year and first-team All-SEC. The Associated Press also recognized him as SEC Offensive Player of the Year and first-team All-SEC, and Sporting News named him as one of its “Breakout Players of 2007”.

As a sophomore, he muscled the Gators to a 9-3 record and berth in the Capital One Bowl with a passer rating of 172.47, the second-highest in the nation. Tebow completed 66.9 percent of his passes, the best in the SEC, and accumulated 3,286 passing yards and 32 passing touchdowns. He also had 23 rushing touchdowns to become the first player in NCAA history with more than 20 touchdowns passing and rushing in the same season.

As a junior the following season, Tebow led the Gators to a 13-1 record and the 2008 National Championship title before going on to a professional career in the National Football League. He was drafted in the first round of the 2008 NFL Draft by the Denver Broncos.


Instagram has returned empty data. Please authorize your Instagram account in the plugin settings .

Please note

This is a widgetized sidebar area and you can place any widget here, as you would with the classic WordPress sidebar.